Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I wanted this to work so badly. I had never cooked with root vegitables and I was so excited to try something new. The glaze ended up to watery and the vegitables were rubbery. I ended up using the yams and carrots as a garnish on the Turkey and throwing the rest out. Such a disspointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These were fantastic! I used Brussels sprouts, cut in half and no rutabaga, and the Brussels were almost my favorites! Except for maybe the parsnips - I love parsnips! Who knew? I roasted this a bit longer than the recipe, until the liquid had boiled away to a nice glaze and the veggies got browned a bit. I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I served this for Thanksgiving. I wasn't super fond of the way it turned out but my in-laws LOVED it. I wanted to AJ/wine mixture to caramelize a bit more and it didn't really. I did cook it the day before and just stuck it in the oven after the turkey was done, which was perfect since I have a tiny oven. Also, next time I make this, I will be adding about 2 onions and at least a head of garlic. It just wasn't flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berryville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner on the grill - I ran out of oven space! The whole family liked it except my picky son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I really liked this dish. It is a sweeter variation from traditional root bake (usually just garlic, herbs & oil oil), but a nice change. I added beets and the juice mixed with the apple cider to make a nice sauce. Watch the cider/wine reduction it may take longer than 30mins, but make sure you are down to 3/4 cup before using. A great dish and I have already passed along the recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
it was good to try something different. makes a lot, will cut down recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Yummy! I followed the instructions as written, except I added beets in addition to all the listed veggies. I don't know what some of the other reviewers were doing that gave them problems -- maybe not reducing the juice/wine enough? (It really does take 30 minutes.) I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This recipe is a great hit at the holidays. This is my third year making it for holidays and everyone enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Very, very good! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was great. I did change the preparation method, however: I tossed all of the vegetable cubes in olive oil and roasted them for about half an hour while I reduced the apple cider & wine. I added the cider-wine glaze to the pans and roasted an additional 15 minutes or so, until the glaze caramelized and any extra liquid had evaporated. I didn't use the butter, since I'd used olive oil for roasting. It looks like a ton when you're making it, but I think the number of servings is pretty accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States