Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was okay. I had something similar to this at someone's home a few years ago and this recipe wasn't as good, but it wasn't bad. I used all the vegetables listed but I added garlic and onion and more carrots. I started roasted them in a little olive oil, fresh rosemary, fresh parsley, salt, and pepper first for about 20 minutes. I didn't use as many of the vegetables as the recipe calls for and I halved the amount of juice and wine. I poured the juice/wine mixture over and then added the butter to the pan after. They roasted for a long time. I didn't care for the rutabagas. The sweet potatoes didn't seem right either. I served this for Christmas dinner along with scalloped potatoes and roast beef. People ate them but I don't think it was a favorite. I'll have to ask my friend what her recipe was. I might try this again with more familar vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
The slightly tart flavor from the apple juice didn't really fit with the veggies and it could use more seasoning of some sort. Not really sure what would make this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This was fantastic. I did not include turnips and parsnips. As a consequence, I probably had about twice as much sauce relative to the amount of vegetables. I used 1Tbs butter and 2Tbs olive oil. After reducing the sauce volume, I added ~1/2 cup apple juice so there would be enough volume for all of the veggies to "boil" in the sauce. I cut the veggies to 1/4" thick slices, and covered the casserole dish with aluminum foil while cooking. I served this with a chicken dish, and drizzled a bit of the sauce from the chicken dish on the veggies before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Sorry -- I didn't care for this. The combo of wine and apple juice detracted from the flavor of the root veges. Maybe I did something wrong, but my veges never carmelized at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Although the recipe looks like it would turn out great in the end, for me it didn't. I don't know if it was my fault or not, but when I started to boil the white wine and the apple juice together, it got too thick (I boiled it for about 20 minutes), and it ended up sticking and burning the bottom of the pot. That's as far as I got with the recipe. I already had the veggies cut up by then, so I poured a little apple juice over them, added some seasonings and oil, and baked them. I don't know if it was the pot I used or what, but I will definately try this recipe again. Sorry about the negative feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Very good! I added a few boiling onions and a few cloves of garlic. I've never even tasted many of these root veggies but I loved this dish nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This was really good. It even turned out despite my errors. I was impatient and didn't boil the apple juice and wine enough before adding the butter and pouring over the veggies. I felt guilty and pulled them out of the oven after 5 minutes or so, drained it and put the apple juice and wine back on the stove to reduce further. Then I reduced it too much! I poured the mixture over the veggies again and threw it in the oven for a second time. I let it cook for about 35 mintues and it turned out great! So yummy! I used a couple of sweet potatoes, some carrots and parsnips. The veggies had a nice flavour and had a bit of a gourmet taste to them. Not your typical cooked veggies. I'll make this again; thanks Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe was great. I was nervous as I hadn't tried a majority of these vegetables. Would highly recommend and is great reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Served with allrecipe.com's "Cuban pork roast" (using a very LEAN roast), "black beans and rice" & shredded romaine and a mango salsa for a real cuban flair. 1/2 serving is the perfect amount as a side dish. It is beautiful. I used yuca to substitute for the rutabagas for a cuban flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
This was the greatest recipe,it was easy,other veggies can be used and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States