Roasted Roma Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
It's not often I'm this impressed with a recipe, especially one I had only average expectations for. This proves not to underestimate the potential of simple and humble dishes. In this case, since hubs detests feta, I took the submitter's suggestion to use smoked gouda and I'm telling you, these little tomato gems were outstandingly delicious. I mixed these together exactly as directed, using fresh tomatoes and herbs from my garden (that could be part of the reason these were so good) and let them set a bit before roasting while I prepared the rest of dinner. Everything was perfect, from the amounts of ingredients to the cooking time. These were a bigger hit than the main course! With more tomatoes on the vine, and gouda in the fridge these will be making an encore appearance real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
These were very good. Next time I will slice them rather than halving them though, it made them very difficult to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Made this exactly as is and it was wonderful! They looked very impressive and tasted great. Will try to experiment with different cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Super yummy way to make some leftover tomatoes! My husband generally doesn't even care for tomatoes, but he ate a few of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I halved the recipe, but pretty much made it as written otherwise. Delicious! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Delicious, healthy, and very simple to make. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Loved these. I used campari tomatoes, as that's what I had on hand. Also used smoked gouda cheese instead of the feta. Next time I will cut back a little bit on the garlic (at hubby's suggestion). The kids even liked them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
So good! I used smoked gouda and dried spices instead of fresh since it's what I had on hand. For 4 romas, I just put a light sprinkling of everything called for, including garlic powder instead of chopped garlic. All just small tweaks, and I cooked the tomatoes for about 11 mins instead of 15 since my oven runs a little hot. Very yummy recipe, I highly recommend it! **Update: I've made this with other non-roma tomatoes (cut into smaller than half slices) and any smokey cheese and it's still wonderful. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I had farm fresh grape tomatoes, so I made a "mini" version. These were super delicious and using the smaller tomatoes would made them a great addition to an appetizer menu. My feta was a little crispy around the edges and perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I halved the recipe since just two of us. Simple & delicious as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States