Roasted Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I just wanted to comment that Trader Joe's Roasted Red Peppers are by FAR the best to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I roasted my own peppers, sliced my own mushrooms. I also used home made veggie stock instead of canned chicken stock. And I left out the tortellini altogether. Not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is very similar to a recipe I invented some years ago. I had some home-made chicken stock (broth) and wanted a change so I raided the freezer and found a large bag of frozen peppers. I didn't add mushrooms or tortellini but the rest of the ingredients were the same. I sprinkled some roasted dried fried onions on top to add crunch. Lovely!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
this could not be easier or quicker. I followed the recipe minus the mushrooms and tortellini since I didn't have them on hand. I added a few dashes of red pepper flakes and about 2 tablespoons of sour cream and it was delicious. This is a definite keeper - even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Was very excited to try the recipe. Agree with other reviewers that something is missing. Might be better with onions, fresh basil, and no oregano. The mushrooms do not add anything and would use half the amount of the tortellini. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I used semi-hot red banana peppers(8) instead of bells. added 3 carrots and 1 sauteed onion and 4 sauteed garlic cloves. Pureed all ingredients(didn't have 'shrooms) until smooth, then simmered in a pot for abot 15 minutes. Didn't add pasta.Used about 18oz. of broth. It came out kind of like a bisque.This made about 3-4 bowls. If you like a bit of heat, this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Very flavorable, super easy. I didn't have fresh mushrooms, so I used canned, also added fresh garlic, and added a dab of cream. Next time I'll make it using scallops instead of tortellini (good suggestion) by previous reviewer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
It was a good flavor but I was a little disappointed that the red peppers were not stronger tasting since I love them so much. I tried to go skimpy on the whipping cream but it really is true that the more you add the better it tastes. I ended up using this more as a pasta sauce rather than a soup since it is so fattening, but I think I'll stick with tomato sauces in the future. It was a lot of work for a good but not great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This did not "thicken" as promised. It wasn't our favorite. The best part was the tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I followed this recipe pretty closely. It wasn't my favorite. I felt that it needed something. The pepper taste needed a littele tempering. If I made this again I might try adding cream at the end like someone else suggested. I may skip the mushrooms too. They just didn't make sense to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adabrowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Thin Spaghetti with Garlic & Red Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States