Roasted Red Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Marlene Bucci
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
The taste of the soup was wonderful and very easy to make. My only point when I make it the next time would be to double the liquid ingredients. It really did seem more like a tortellini with sauce over it than a soup and I didn't even use the full amount of tortellini that was suggested in the ingredients. I used about half that much. So, half the tortellini and double the main soup ingredients. Otherwise, a great soup, especially on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Bucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Sorry Rlinda, but I didn't like this 'soup' at all. I followed the recipe exactly without the tortellini though. I thought it was too spicy (and I like spicy) and was overpowered by too many competing spices (too much pepper, too much of every spice actually). It is not as subtle soup, but just hits you in the face. Also, it was unclear if we were to re-blend the mushrooms in after boiling or not (I did, with one of those hand blenders; still not better). I'll never make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevoParis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Pretty good, particularly because it was so easy to make and the tortellini was great in it. My only issue is that even though I love lots of seasonings and flavor, I thought there was way too much oregano in the soup. A little oregano goes a long way, at least for me. Also, that much pepper would make the soup REALLY peppery, so I halved it and it still had quite a strong spicy kick. This is a recipe where I would definitely recommend seasoning to taste instead of following the directions as written. I will definitely make it again and simply adjust the seasonings; thanks for the recipe, RLINDA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was delicious and easy to prepare in my Vitamix, although I did have to cook the tortellini separately. The tortellini made this hearty enough for me to eat for dinner by itself. The soup is delicious and I would omit the pasta if serving with a sandwich or something else. I didn’t have oregano and my peppers (what I had on hand) had dill and garlic added. I rinsed the peppers but there was still a hint of dill which did not add to the taste of the soup. Next time, and there will be a next time, I will either roast my own peppers or use a plain bottled variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
too much oregeno for my taste I cooked tortellini on side because I hate when they turn to mush in left -overs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wow this was pretty good. I didn't have fresh mushrooms so I used two cans and also added some heavy cream then shared w/some friends and they were just as impressed. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwrightwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Very easy & extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Simple! Yummy! I added some herbs de province as someone else's suggestion and don't think it would have been NEARLY as good without it! My suggestion is not to add so much noodles, because mine was not soupy at all. It was more like noodles with a little sauce on top. I would have liked it to be more soupy like in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Used what I had in my fridge already. I roasted 5 sliced red peppers and package of fresh mushrooms with some salt free Italian herbs, a clove of garlic and a little olive oil in my oven at 450 degrees for 20 minutes. Put it in my food processor and pulsed it until it was a nice thick sauce. Put it in a sauce pan on the stove top, added low salt chicken broth and 1/4 cup of Merlot until it was the right consistency for a nice thick soup. Added more Italian herbs to taste. Simmered 10 min. Served with Feta cheese crumbles on top to garnish. I am going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This soup is excellent. I did, however, added 1 c of heavy cream (not so healthy but really good) Next time I think I am going to add diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States