Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So I made this exactly as the recipe said at first my 5 year old tried it and first said he didn't like it. It tasted funny lol he is used to tomato basil soup. My husband said it tasted odd. I agree with both of them it's DEFININTLY NOT a soup I can just eat with some bread but I HATE TO WASTE anything this time consuming so after we attempted to have it for dinner I thought about the flavors. My husband and I felt tex mex which got me thinking CHILI. So the next morning I threw cooked hamburger, kidney beans, onions, tomatoes and chili seasoning in the crockpot and it made THE BEST chili my family had ever had super flavorful then add some cheese, fritos or cornbread we fell in love with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Salgado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This recipe is excellent. I used tomatoes I had frozen last summer and took the time to roast the red peppers instead of using jarred. Used my immersion blender to meld the ingredients together and served with Bacon, Avocado, and Pepperjack Grilled Cheese Sandwiches also from AR. Terrific combination. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Lovely recipe, my husband is usually not a fan of tomato soup, but loved this recipe. I added some tomato paste at the end to add colour, the rest is exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I might've given more stars if I'd followed the exact recipe & it had come out great. However, after the suggested 15 minutes of prep time had long passed me by (you've gotta be a master chef to do all that prepping in 15 minutes), I ended up taking some tips from other comments about cutting out a few steps. My end product is ok. Definitely needs more red peppers if you want that flavour to come through. Next time, I'll remember to add the word 'easy' to my search for roasted red pepper & tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is a tasty soup! There is a great deal of work involved and the soup does not have a very strong roasted red pepper flavor. I will likely not make this again based on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Fantastic!! Soup or pasta sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Really yummy! I roasted my own red peppers, but since I didn't have any garden tomatoes, I used canned. I followed the advice of others and added an extra red pepper. I also skipped the back and forth with liquids and simply used my Cuisinart smart stick and pureed it all, right in the pot. For garnish I added a dollop of Greek yogurt and a sprig of cilantro. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
2nd time making this. Only changes...I roasted peppers AND tomatoes, cooled, pulled skins off, and seeded peppers. Kept peeled tomatoes whole.Threw all into pot, as is, no need to chop, as they're going to be pureed anyway. Cooked down as written. Added 2 of the 6 Cups Of broth, pureed with immersion blender. Added rest of broth, (chix, veg, turkey, any will be awesome...I used half chix, half veg) then proceeded as written. Added about 12 oz half and half at end for depth, but we love bisque like soups, you may not! Thanks for an awesome Recipe! My family and paddle team thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Very good recipe Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Very Good thank you. Made this with extra tomatoes on hand from canning. Since I had a bumper crop of red peppers this season too, this was a good recipe to try. I added more roasted red pepper, used only 1 cup stock, tweaked the seasoning. Next time I will remove some of the processing steps and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States