Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
Very good recipe. I took some liberties as I was short on time, and still had a great result. I used a large jar of purchased roasted red peppers. I also used a large can of diced tomatoes, and veggie broth instead of chicken broth. I ended up with all the ingredients simmering away in the pot and then used my immersion blender to puree everything right in the pot. Excellent flavor and seasonings. I also added some dry mashed potato flakes to thicken it up at the end instead of the butter/flour. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I really dislike tomato soup out of a can, but have had wonderful tomato soup in restaurants. This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I made it for my book club and all the gals raved about it. I did make a few changes. First, I used canned diced tomatoes. I also sauted two chopped red peppers and used one roasted red pepper from a jar, putting them all in at the same time instead of reserving one for the end of the recipe. Instead of making the roux I added some cornstarch to a bit of the broth, stirred until smooth, and then mixed that into the soup. Finally, instead of the sour cream I added a few tablespoons of cream to the entire batch before serving. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This tasted like a soup you would get at a nice restaurant, with a lovely hue. Based on other reviews, I used 4 red peppers and in place of fresh tomatoes (which are terrible this time of year, at least here) I used 2 (14 oz) cans of diced, peeled tomatoes. I also did not reserve a pepper for use later. People here at work that tasted it loved it as well. Despite the effort (most of which is in the cooking time), this will be a soup I readily will make again. In the future, I may or may not continue to use the roux (this time I did use it), but it looked ready to go without the roux being necessary. Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
An INSTANT hit! I make it at least 4 times every winter and everyone who tastes it ALWAYS has seconds! Here are my minor modifications: 1. I used 1 can of chopped tomatoes instead of peeling and seeding them myself (which took WAY too long). 2. I added an extra red pepper (LOVE the taste of them. There is NO substitute for roasting your own peppers so take the time for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Delicious soup. Used canned diced tomatoes as well as a huge jar of roasted red peppers. Added some heavy whipping cream, topped with sprigs of fresh basil. Plan on serving this at a holiday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
very tasty soup indeed. I omitted the step of adding the tomatoes and onion to the broth and boiling. I just went straight to the puree and then placed evryhing back into the broth and simmered for 35 minutes. Also I roasted all the vegaetables except for the tomatoes. This allowed for the onions to carmelize and the garlic to let out more flavor than jst crushed. The flavor improves with time. Served this soup at a church lunch and it was a hit. Also did not have thyme so i subbed dried basil. For the salt I used coarse sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I made this soup according to recipe (fresh tomatoes, fresh peppers I roasted myself), and it was good (but not great). I would've used an additional pepper for more roasted red pepper flavor (and less chicken stock flavor). Overall I found this soup to be a little bland, so I would also add more garlic, hot sauce, salt and pepper, etc. It's also worth mentioning that this is a very labor-intensive soup to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Made this for my boss (principal's day). It is her favorite soup and she RAVED about it. (Personally I don't like red pepper, so I didn't try it.) The entire faculty ate it up without leaving any leftovers. So...this rating is from them. Thanks for helping me out with the boss. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This soup was fantastic! The only change I made was to add a cup of milk at the very end to make it a little bit creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
this soup was really good! i served it with grilled cheese sandwiches. i made a few changes to save time: i used roasted red peppers from a bottle (trader joe's has good ones), canned tomatoes (use a good brand- there is a difference!), and my wand blender to blend the soup (a potato masher would have worked, too). i brought leftovers to a couple of friends who had never had tomato soup before, and they just loved it! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States