Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was fantastic. I added some thinly sliced scallions as garnish. Have already made it twice. Was a big hit with my husband/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This soup is so good that my 12 year old son requests it. He likes it so much that he'll eat it two nights in a row (we have leftovers since there are only 3 of us). While it is a little bit of work and takes some time, it is well worth it to all of us. I use a 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, and 4 red peppers that I roast myself. I added 2 tsp of dried basil and 1 tsp of dried oregano and increase the cayenne to 1/8 tsp and a couple of dashes of hot sauce. We like it a little spicy, but even with these modifications, we don't find it hot. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I agree with others that if you're looking for roasted red pepper taste, you should add more roasted red peppers. Also, if you're sensitive to spice like I am, I would be cautious with how much cayenne you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Flavorful & delicious. I highly recommend this shoup. I used jarred red bell peppers (plus two fresh) & fire roasted tomatoes. Served with sour cream, but is also good plain. I pureed most of the solids and added the peppers that I roasted myself at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good soup. To cut down the prep time, use an immersion blender. After roasting and peeling peppers, I used one pot. Sauteed the onions, peppers, and garlic, added broth (I used veg. broth) and spices. I left out sugar and used a combo of fresh and canned tomatoes. It's hard to find a good tomato in MD. this time of yeare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I love this soup. It takes a LONG time to prepare and cook. It is very labor intensive and it makes a big mess. It does taste good so I will make it again. Next time I will plan my time better. The 15 min prep time is not even close to accurate. Also, next time I will leave out the extra roasted pepper added at the end. My kids did not like the lumpy pepper in their tomato soup because they are used to a smooth soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOACHIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T! It was absolutely perfect. I loved the toppings of sour cream (I have even tried shredded cheese and croutons with it.) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Good soup, nothing super special. Does take a while to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I wasn't thrilled with this soup. I didn't mind the work but the results weren't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELYNED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was a good soup. However I do think that it lacked a depth of flavor, and did not know how to remedy that even with a few extra additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States