Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Awesome!!!! Made the following changes: 4 large red peppers, 2 14 oz diced fire roasted tomatoes, 4 cups chicken broth! makes 5 servings. delish! Friends loved it!!! beautiful red color - added some heavy cream, at the end - turned beautiful deep orange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Excellent flavor. It was worth the extra work. I added more cayenne than was called for and also I didn't end up needing the flour thickening at the end - it was just fine as it was. Thanks for sharing - wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
super yummy, but not an easy soup to make nor is it a very cost effective soup. 6 cups of soup for about $10. not sure if i would do it again, but it certainly was delicious. maybe when red bell peppers and tomatoes are on sale :) i thought the soup would be too runny so i tried to boil off some of the chicken broth, but the roux made it perfectly thick (duh . . .) thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I altered this recipe a bit. I roased the tomatoes with some garlic and the thyme befor adding to the soup. It was a little blah for me, so I added some Italian seasoning toward the end, omitted the sour cream, and topped it with homemade garlic croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is a fabulous soup! I added a little more spice, including one small hot pepper, and increased both the amount of tomatoes and the red peppers, for a thicker soup. Delicious! If freezes well too - always a plus for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This tangy and delicious soup was great! My kids both loved it (11&5) both are picky soup eaters. I only had 2 red peppers and I used a can of diced tomatoes to save time. I thickened only a bit with cornstarch and some of the broth that I held over . This will definately be a soup I make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Love it! Of course I made some changes such as adding roasted eggplant, adding a load more roasted garlic and sub-ed goat milk cheese for sour cream but the base line of this recipe is awesome. The more roasted everything you can use the better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This soup was a great way to use up the tomato surplus from my garden. I roasted the tomatoes alongside the red peppers to increase the delicious, smoky flavor. To roast: I halved the tomatoes, used a skewer help seed them, gave a light spray of canola oil and placed cut side down on the grill until the skins started to wrinkle and the tomatoes softened a bit. Once they cooled, I peeled off the skin, chopped and added the tomatoes as directed in the recipe. I cut down on the cooking time to account for the fact that the tomatoes were pre-roasted. My only complaint is that there was a bit too much Thyme for my taste. I'll probably cut that down to a 1/2 teaspoon next time. Otherwise, the recipe was fantastic. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Outstanding and flavorful with a hint of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
A delicious soup that can be easily doctored up for your own preferences. I had no sour cream so I sprinkled some goat cheese on top. It added creaminess and a contrasting taste. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States