Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Delicious recipe. I made with canned diced tomatoes, but did roast my own peppers. I also left out the hot sauce. Otherwise followed recipe exactly. Had a small kick to it, but not too much (I'm not a super spicy girl). I'm taking this to a soup exchange so we'll see how others like it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Awesome!!!! Made the following changes: 4 large red peppers, 2 14 oz diced fire roasted tomatoes, 4 cups chicken broth! makes 5 servings. delish! Friends loved it!!! beautiful red color - added some heavy cream, at the end - turned beautiful deep orange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Excellent flavor. It was worth the extra work. I added more cayenne than was called for and also I didn't end up needing the flour thickening at the end - it was just fine as it was. Thanks for sharing - wonderful flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
super yummy, but not an easy soup to make nor is it a very cost effective soup. 6 cups of soup for about $10. not sure if i would do it again, but it certainly was delicious. maybe when red bell peppers and tomatoes are on sale :) i thought the soup would be too runny so i tried to boil off some of the chicken broth, but the roux made it perfectly thick (duh . . .) thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I altered this recipe a bit. I roased the tomatoes with some garlic and the thyme befor adding to the soup. It was a little blah for me, so I added some Italian seasoning toward the end, omitted the sour cream, and topped it with homemade garlic croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is a fabulous soup! I added a little more spice, including one small hot pepper, and increased both the amount of tomatoes and the red peppers, for a thicker soup. Delicious! If freezes well too - always a plus for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This tangy and delicious soup was great! My kids both loved it (11&5) both are picky soup eaters. I only had 2 red peppers and I used a can of diced tomatoes to save time. I thickened only a bit with cornstarch and some of the broth that I held over . This will definately be a soup I make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Love it! Of course I made some changes such as adding roasted eggplant, adding a load more roasted garlic and sub-ed goat milk cheese for sour cream but the base line of this recipe is awesome. The more roasted everything you can use the better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This soup was a great way to use up the tomato surplus from my garden. I roasted the tomatoes alongside the red peppers to increase the delicious, smoky flavor. To roast: I halved the tomatoes, used a skewer help seed them, gave a light spray of canola oil and placed cut side down on the grill until the skins started to wrinkle and the tomatoes softened a bit. Once they cooled, I peeled off the skin, chopped and added the tomatoes as directed in the recipe. I cut down on the cooking time to account for the fact that the tomatoes were pre-roasted. My only complaint is that there was a bit too much Thyme for my taste. I'll probably cut that down to a 1/2 teaspoon next time. Otherwise, the recipe was fantastic. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Outstanding and flavorful with a hint of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States