Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious and creamy, even without the sour cream. The ONLY change I made was to decrease the amount of broth for a thicker soup. Perfect for a light dinner or even with a 1/2 sandwich. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
OMG! Eating this right now. Used 3C veggie broth and 1C chix; did not add as much broth back to the pureed toms/pepps to avoid a thickening agent. What a lovely soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Meh soup. Roasted red pepper and spicing was good but the tomato overwhelmed everything and was too watery. Probably if I had better tomatos and cooked it longer during the second step to really, really cook off all the tomato juices it could have been better. I cut back on the chicken stock to 4 cups and I still would if I had to do it again. Definitely a labor and time intensive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I've made this 4 times & have tweaked it each time. The base recipe is solid so you can dabble with minor changes & the flavor is still great. I now make it with 3 pounds of tomato, 4 large red bell peppers and increase the garlic/onion/spices in proportion. I roast my onion & garlic along with the tomato in olive oil that has been infused with cilantro & roasted onion. I add more cayenne & hot sauce(s) to give it extra punch & leave out the butter & flour. It is tasty with or without sour cream. This is a solid recipe with easy prep. Lots of flexibility to tweak ingredients & dabble in spices without losing the great basic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Katz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was a tasty soup! I roasted a red pepper earlier today and was looking for something to use it in. It does have a slight heat kick to it, though, but the color is brilliant. I might post a picture tomorrow. I thought the directions were a little much. So, I sauteed the onion in the olive oil for about 5 minutes and then added the garlic for about another minute. Then, I threw all of the ingredients in my Vitamix blender for 9 minutes as it has a heating function. I made 1/3 of a recipe and just rounded the ingredients up or down to make it easier. I knew that amount would fit in my blender also. I got about 4 soup cup type servings still, cutting back the recipe. I ate it with sesame crackers, but for a heavier meal this would be great with a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This soup was to die for....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Fabulous soup. Used 3 small red and 3 small yellow peppers, roasted and peeled. Five small-ish cloves of garlic, crushed. One 28-oz can diced tomatoes. 8 cups turkey stock (home made). A hefty dash of chipotle chili powder (instead of hot sauce and cayenne). And used an immersion blender to blitz. Took more salt than I thought it would to bring it up to my taste. Served with a little sour cream, and added a tablespoon of freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Had great body and was hearty without being heavy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I made some soft garlic twisty bread to go with this soup. I chunked up the bread and added to each bowl before serving. I topped with a sprinkle of parmesan and it was fantastic! Reminds me of Boston Pizza's version! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
As written, I found the recipe rather too mild tasting - just not enough flavour. I ended up reducing it somewhat further and adding some tomato sauce and a little extra of all the spices. I will definitely make it again, but next time with more tomato and an extra pepper. It ended up lovely regardless but I think it will be better next time. Instead of thickening with the roux, I used skim milk powder for a bit of creaminess. I also didn't like the idea of cooking it down, adding stock THEN pureeing it (I don't have an immersion blender). I cooked the veggies, pureed them THEN added the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good flavor. I used a seeded, chopped jalepeno in place of the hot sauce & cayenne. A great soup for when you have a cold, like I do right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States