Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Missy Anne
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This soup is delicious, but not necessarily worth the work. I used at least six big pots, pan, blenders, and cookie sheets to make this,. It takes around two hours to make from start to finish, and that's not wait time, you are working on it almost the entire time. The taste is good, but not necessarily worth it for a weeknight dinner, and a busy household. It is better then canned, but I'm going to search for a soup that's easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Loved the soup. Took some other member suggestions and used canned diced tomatoes instead (way too much work to peel, deseed) and added 4th pepper. Pureed them all, no reserving one chopped pepper. I think it's better than Trader Joe's version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very time consuming and not worth it. I suggest buying this soup in cartons from Trader Joe's. Cheaper, easier, tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I honestly didn't think this soup would be all that great. I'm not a HUGE fan of red peppers and it just sounded like way too much for me. But oh boy was I wrong. This one is a keeper. A little time consuming, but totally worth it and beautiful for a romantic dinner, valentines day, anniversay, etc. Great with Salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The soup is fantastic. And if I'd been a better cook it might even have tasted like it was supposed to have done. However, (this is entirely my own fault -- I'm a new cook and still learning) it came out way hotter than I expected. And I'm Indian so thats saying a lot. Anyway, I wanted to make it with only one red bell pepper so I halved all the ingredients. However instead of two I used one really large (size of a small squash) red vine ripened tomato. I also had no paprika so I substituted red chilly flakes. That might have been my first mistake. I also had no thyme so ditched that. And when it said to add a pinch of cayenne pepper (another thing I didn't have) I added a 1/4 tsp of red chilly powder. Mistake number two I fear. What should I have done instead? Any tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
*update - you can use green peppers and it tastes the same - just not as pretty, but way less to make since red peppers are twice as much! I only used 1 red pepper and half a green pepper for color, and this still turned out great. I also did not skin them, or blend up the cooked veggies, just made sure they were good and shredded/tiny. I like some texture to my soup. I also used diced tomatoes instead of fresh ones. A heaping blob of sour cream is a MUST with this recipe and goes awesome with grilled mozzarella cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
YUM. It took a rather long time to make but it was worth the effort. It was so good, I forgot to put in the sour cream! The soup vanished in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I was really looking forward to this recipe. And while it was definitely better than something out of the can, it did not meet my expectations. The hue and texture were both very nice, but I was hoping for something creamier. This just didn't hit the spot for me. It tasted more like a good marinara or pizza sauce than a tomato soup that warms you up on a cold night. I have to admit that I used canned tomatoes instead of fresh ones which probably made some difference. And I didn't have any cayenne on hand, so I used a pinch of Chili powder instead. Nevertheless, I don't think either of those things changed it so much that is caused my disappointment, and I followed the rest of recipe as written. Being that this soup takes so long to make, I doubt that I will make it again often if at all. Maybe some cream added to it would give it what I'm looking for. I may have to try it again some time with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was very good and easy to make. It's my first time making homemade soup and it was no problem at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This soup looks wonderful, and I think it would make a really tasty pasta sauce. Hard to explain, but I almost found it too flavourful as a soup. Definitely worth trying though, because it's a unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowShadow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States