Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Very Good thank you. Made this with extra tomatoes on hand from canning. Since I had a bumper crop of red peppers this season too, this was a good recipe to try. I added more roasted red pepper, used only 1 cup stock, tweaked the seasoning. Next time I will remove some of the processing steps and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Just finished making it. Followed the recipe except blended stuff before adding the broth to it. Gave my husband a taste just after finishing it and he said "its not good". So all that for nothing:( It was a really labor intensive soup and I don't think the flavor is bad, but I also don't love it. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Good soup but labor intensive. I won't make this often but when I really want to cook, then I will make this. Next time I will roast the tomatoes to see if there is any difference. Maybe I will even consider the short cuts (canned items), just to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I absolutely love this soup and so does my dad. I serve it with grilled cheese sandwiches out of swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Soup was fantastic!!! I wanted this soup to be dairy/meat free so instead of using the butter and flour at the end to thicken I used some tomato paste at the same time as putting the stock in (used veg instead of chicken as well) and it turned out great. Used an emersion blender also instead of straining which was much easier. Even better the second day also after it's had a chance to mingle in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious and creamy, even without the sour cream. The ONLY change I made was to decrease the amount of broth for a thicker soup. Perfect for a light dinner or even with a 1/2 sandwich. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
OMG! Eating this right now. Used 3C veggie broth and 1C chix; did not add as much broth back to the pureed toms/pepps to avoid a thickening agent. What a lovely soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Meh soup. Roasted red pepper and spicing was good but the tomato overwhelmed everything and was too watery. Probably if I had better tomatos and cooked it longer during the second step to really, really cook off all the tomato juices it could have been better. I cut back on the chicken stock to 4 cups and I still would if I had to do it again. Definitely a labor and time intensive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I've made this 4 times & have tweaked it each time. The base recipe is solid so you can dabble with minor changes & the flavor is still great. I now make it with 3 pounds of tomato, 4 large red bell peppers and increase the garlic/onion/spices in proportion. I roast my onion & garlic along with the tomato in olive oil that has been infused with cilantro & roasted onion. I add more cayenne & hot sauce(s) to give it extra punch & leave out the butter & flour. It is tasty with or without sour cream. This is a solid recipe with easy prep. Lots of flexibility to tweak ingredients & dabble in spices without losing the great basic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatzNK9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was a tasty soup! I roasted a red pepper earlier today and was looking for something to use it in. It does have a slight heat kick to it, though, but the color is brilliant. I might post a picture tomorrow. I thought the directions were a little much. So, I sauteed the onion in the olive oil for about 5 minutes and then added the garlic for about another minute. Then, I threw all of the ingredients in my Vitamix blender for 9 minutes as it has a heating function. I made 1/3 of a recipe and just rounded the ingredients up or down to make it easier. I knew that amount would fit in my blender also. I got about 4 soup cup type servings still, cutting back the recipe. I ate it with sesame crackers, but for a heavier meal this would be great with a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States