Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I had some red peppers in the fridge that were a few days old, and I went looking for recipes to use them up. This one really fit the bill! I roasted the peppers under the broiler and after letting them "steam" in a small paper bag for several minutes, the charred skins slipped right off; seeding and deveining is slippery but quick. I used only olive oil and I sub'd skim milk for the h&h (to save a few fat grams, of course!). I also pureed the soup -- I adore cream soups because they seem so decadent. The flavor was complex, and the color was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is one of my families favorites soups!! I actually add 2 jars of roasted red peppers and simmer the soup all day. It lets the potatoes cook down and the broth becomes thicker and adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was very good... I made it for a crowd and didn't feel like dicing everything, so I roughly chopped everything, cooked as directed and pureed it in the end. That gave it a nice chowder-like consistency. And I will say, the flavor is wonderful the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
my boyfriend and i both enjoyed this one! i had white potatoes in the cupboard at the time, so used 5 small/medium of those instead of red. i also had a couple of fresh red peppers, so i just peeled and roasted them myself with a little olive oil. also used a veggie boullion cube with about 1 L of water to make the broth since we don't eat meat. came out great, and there was just enough red pepper to enhance the flavour without overpowering the other ingredients. i know i didn't follow the recipe exactly, but i don't see how this recipe will make 6 servings unless it's as a starter (the pot was completely emptied between the two of us eating it as a meal with bread and we still had room for dessert). i will definitely make this one again, but if i were cooking for more than 2 people, i would increase the portions considerably. either way, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Love this soup! I roast my own peppers, and add a touch of cumin, curry and red pepper flakes for a bit of heat and more complex flavor. I also prefer arrowroot (Asian groceries often have it) as a thickening agent instead of flour, but you can also get potato starch at the Asian market, too which works. No "floury" taste. I'm a huge fan of soups, and this is one of the best according to guests...pretty color, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This turned out well! I used whole milk instead of half and half, and next time I would put chopped spinach in it, but it was a nice soup for winter... tasted even better and a little thicker as leftovers. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
WOW! I used three fat garlic cloves, cream and dried dill instead of thyme. I Roasted the peppers myself before hand with a little olive oil, balsamic vineger and chopped garlic glaze. Gotta peel the skins off the peppers this way but MAN is it worth it. Best soup I made this year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I love soup and this is a tasty one! It tastes like something you'd find in a fancy-pants restaurant ;) I had about 10 fresh peppers from the market that needed to be used, so I cut them in half and seeded them, and roasted them open side down on a greased baking sheet for about 15 minutes at 450*. They peeled easily once cooled. I also used only vegetable oil to saute the veggies as I had no butter (the 1/2and1/2 cream in the recipe gives the soup a very buttery taste in the end anyway!). Didn't have fresh thyme, but for spices I used 1 teaspoon thyme, 1 teaspoon curry, 1/8 teaspoon cayenne, and a dash of crushed chili peppers. It really turned out beautifully, with a bright orange color and a tasty aroma that filled the house! This is a recipe I will make again :oP Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Wow, this soup is wonderful, thick and creamy and very tasty. I followed the recipe almost completely. I left out celery (didn't have any), used a teaspoon dried thyme in stead of fresh, and added an extra potato, but those were the only modifications (well, I did use fresh peppers. I just followed the directions from other reviews and it was very easy to do) Based on other reviews I was not sure if it would turn out thin (I like soups that are creamy and of thicker consistence), but decided I could always thicken it up with more flour later if needed. It turned out very thick and creamy, almost a bit too thick, when I went back for seconds I had to add some milk and heat up again. It was so thick from sitting one the stove for 30 minutes that I could have eaten it with a fork. So next time I will cut down on the flour. Next time I will also leave out the extra potato. Three is plenty even though I love potatoes. I might try to make it with half the potatoes and cauliflower instead of carrots. I think that will be a good match. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe and I am not a big potato soup fan. I made it with grilled ham and cheeses and my family loved it. My picky four year old even told me that I made a really great dinner tonight. ya! score! I used 2% milk instead of the half and half, celery flakes instead of the celery, I also omitted the butter and used olive oil to saute the veggies. Delish! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States