Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
A definite keeper! I did roast my own peppers and also added a generous dash of habanero sauce. The soup has a great texture and light yet rich flavor. When blending, remember to do so in small batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by playsindirt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Wow, this soup is wonderful, thick and creamy and very tasty. I followed the recipe almost completely. I left out celery (didn't have any), used a teaspoon dried thyme in stead of fresh, and added an extra potato, but those were the only modifications (well, I did use fresh peppers. I just followed the directions from other reviews and it was very easy to do) Based on other reviews I was not sure if it would turn out thin (I like soups that are creamy and of thicker consistence), but decided I could always thicken it up with more flour later if needed. It turned out very thick and creamy, almost a bit too thick, when I went back for seconds I had to add some milk and heat up again. It was so thick from sitting one the stove for 30 minutes that I could have eaten it with a fork. So next time I will cut down on the flour. Next time I will also leave out the extra potato. Three is plenty even though I love potatoes. I might try to make it with half the potatoes and cauliflower instead of carrots. I think that will be a good match. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
What a wonderful recipe. I convienced my husband to try this new soup, who is a very fussy eater. Well,he went crazy for it and so did my staff at work.Everyone want's this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This soup was great. I make a lot of soup, because it's easy, but this recipe was much better than average. I used Yukon Gold potatoes instead of the Red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I had some red peppers in the fridge that were a few days old, and I went looking for recipes to use them up. This one really fit the bill! I roasted the peppers under the broiler and after letting them "steam" in a small paper bag for several minutes, the charred skins slipped right off; seeding and deveining is slippery but quick. I used only olive oil and I sub'd skim milk for the h&h (to save a few fat grams, of course!). I also pureed the soup -- I adore cream soups because they seem so decadent. The flavor was complex, and the color was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I liked this, but it wasn't what I was expecting. I expected a thicker soup. Still, it was a nice change of pace. I used fat free half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Love this soup! I roast my own peppers, and add a touch of cumin, curry and red pepper flakes for a bit of heat and more complex flavor. I also prefer arrowroot (Asian groceries often have it) as a thickening agent instead of flour, but you can also get potato starch at the Asian market, too which works. No "floury" taste. I'm a huge fan of soups, and this is one of the best according to guests...pretty color, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
my boyfriend and i both enjoyed this one! i had white potatoes in the cupboard at the time, so used 5 small/medium of those instead of red. i also had a couple of fresh red peppers, so i just peeled and roasted them myself with a little olive oil. also used a veggie boullion cube with about 1 L of water to make the broth since we don't eat meat. came out great, and there was just enough red pepper to enhance the flavour without overpowering the other ingredients. i know i didn't follow the recipe exactly, but i don't see how this recipe will make 6 servings unless it's as a starter (the pot was completely emptied between the two of us eating it as a meal with bread and we still had room for dessert). i will definitely make this one again, but if i were cooking for more than 2 people, i would increase the portions considerably. either way, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was interesting and good. I added 2 extra heaping tablespoons of flour to thicken the base, and would add even more in the future to make it a creamier soup. I would also add 2 more red potatoes, and let them really cook down some more to add substance to the base. Overall, it was good and I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States