Roasted Red Pepper and Goat Cheese Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this as the Exchange group recipe for the week of March 8th. I chose to interpret "crumbled goat cheese" as "feta" even though I know that's not what the recipe intends. Hey, feta came from a goat too, I'm not ashamed! I had to sub dried basil for the 1/2 tsp. of fresh. I used 1/4 tsp. of dried, and it was undetectable. I've made similar frittatas and always use milk where this recipe uses cream. I believe the cream does add a richer feel to the overall end product, though I'm not sure the difference is enough, to me, to justify the caloric difference. Overall we liked this. Any recipe that starts with the smell of frying potatoes is a winner in my house, and this was no exception. If I made this again -- and I might, we do love a frittata around here -- I would add sliced white or yellow onions to the potatoes in the initial cooking step, so that they'd brown and caramelize along with the potatoes. (Thought about doing that this time but since I was participating in a group thing, I didn't! Kind of wish that I had!) Thanks for the recipe, we enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight to try something different and as part of the recipe group, and actually found it quite tasty! Made a few changes though. 1 1/2 red bell peppers that I roasted gave me about 1 1/4 cup of chopped red pepper, so I threw it all in. Also added about 3/4 cup sliced baby bella mushrooms that needed to be used, spiced the potatoes with paprika and red pepper flakes, used skim milk instead of heavy cream and added the fresh chopped basil to the finished product after broiling. Basil's flavor cooks right out of it if it's cooked too long! I had to cook this in a smaller pan since I don't have a cast iron skillet, so I cut back a bit on the potatoes, but left everything else the same (next time I think I'll throw some red onion in as well!). The creaminess of the goat cheese really made this dish shine; make sure you let it get nice and brown before taking it out of the oven! I think it will be a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I also thought it was a bit bland, needing something else. I had to use a small russet (baking) potato, half&half (light) cream instead of heavy, & since I had no fresh nor dried basil, I whisked a pinch of basil-heavy pesto into the eggs. I used 1/2 creamy goat cheese & 1/2 (cow's milk) feta. I suspect Dave was inspired by the famous Spanish tortilla, which is a sliced potato (& onion) omelette - that too can be considered bland, but somehow it works better than this frittata. The roasted red bell peppers were the best part, to me. I served this for breakfast with a side of sauteed grape-sized tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Sassy, I wish we could have shared this for brunch today. I followed the recipe as closely as I could, except I used dried basil and feta cheese. I cooked the potatoes longer so they would be crispy. I broiled the pepper to bring out the taste. This was a good recipe but seemed to be lacking somthing. After trying it, I ate the rest with some spicy salsa. Next time I will fry some onion or leeks with the potatoes, and top with old cheddar cheese and crispy bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I too, have never made or eaten a frittata. Made this one for the recipe group. It seemed a little bland to me. I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to stir the potatoes. So I did. I may have sliced too many. I did cook the potatoes a little longer, till they were tender. After I added the garlic and peppers I stirred it all together and added the eggs. I did have to cook probably twice the amount of time for the eggs to set. It looked and smelled great. I used dried basil, not having any fresh this time of year and subbed in sour cream/milk for the heavy cream. It only used 1/3 cup. Taste test as I said was pretty bland. I think it could have benefited from some onions in there somewhere and maybe some red pepper flakes on the potatoes while cooking. I did use the goat cheese on this, could’ve used some more actually. Making it non vegetarian I would love to throw some crumbled bacon in with it! Thanks for the recipe Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
1st I must say, I have never made or eaten a Frittata. So making it looked easy, but it wasn't for me. I didn't have a cast iron pan and my gas oven proved to be a challenge with the broiler on the bottom. No small pans to fit in the broiler for my big famiy. I personally had questions through out the steps. I sliced the potatoes, however, in end result...I could have diced them for a quicker cooking process, took longer for me. The potatoes didn't have much flavor and sort of bland. However the garlic and the roasted red peppers were excellent. I couldn't find "crumbled goat cheese" I thought maybe it was an error in the submission of the recipe and felt it might have been feta instead. I have never eaten goat cheese either and well that I can say is an required taste. Someone mentioned they thought the recipe bland when they made it in forum discussion, so I got seasoned goat cheese. All together I didn't care for the dish, I'm sorry. I probably could have waited to see other's changes or suggestions before attempting it, but even though my son and I didn't like it. My 3 daughters loved it. I could attempt this again, with some extra seasonings and different type of cheese and the potatoes done differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This was a good addition to our Christmas brunch. I used fat free half and half in place of the heavy cream, but that was the only thing I changed. The next time, I may try using rosemary in place of the basil. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was interesting. I love quiche, so I've always wanted to try a frittata. I just happened to have everthing on hand, and while it was good, it was rather bland. I added onion for extra flavor, and even more basil than the recipe called for. I think I'll try a frittata again, although maybe without the potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Good, but definitely bland, so needs some spicing up. I noted the reviews and added a Montreal Steak flavoring (garlic and onion) and worried it was too much since I dumped more than I intended, but it worked really well and gave it a good flavor. Used regular instead of roasted red peppers and it was fine--just added to the latter half of the potato cooking time. I needed to let the eggs set longer, about 20 minutes, then put in the broiler (on low) for 4 minutes. Nice breakfast, and definitely could work for dinner. However, be aware that this is extremely thin so I was still hungry after one serving and ate two. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States