Roasted Red Pepper and Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great soup. It is a must to use fresh peppers. Some of the other reviews suggested using can, i feel this would be a grave mistake. I followed some advice of others and prepared it the night before. Some of my guests that don't even like soup loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Mathiau

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is an okay, average tasting soup that on its face might be worthy of three stars. However, when you consider the effort involved (I not only roasted the peppers but made my own chicken broth as well) and the expense (crab meat is not cheap, particularly the jumbo lump crab I used) hubs and I both agree this is a mediocre soup, boring, bland and uninspired. Sherry might have been a nice addition, as well as maybe starting this off by sauteeing the "holy trinity" of carrots, onions and celery. Fish stock or clam juice could be used as well, and would have complemented the crab. It definitely needs more depth and rounded out flavors. As is, it basically tasted no more than what it was - pureed roasted peppers and half and half with some crab meat thrown in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This recipe was really great!! When i make it again i think I will not add the milk till the potatoes are done so it doesnt get that curdled lool but after i used the immersible it looked fine. I also added some extra heat but it really was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
this was really good! i did change it a bit. started off by sauteeing onions, garlic, and celery in olive oil. when they were soft, added 6 medium red potatoes (one would not have been NEARLY enough.) and vegetable broth. added seasonings, a little extra cayenne per our tastes, and also some parsley. let this heat up while the peppers roasted, peeled them and added them in. brought it to a boil and added the half and half. after the potatoes were soft, used my hand soup blender to puree all. got a lovely color and flavor. wish i had fresh crab, but had to go with 6 cans of lump crab and also threw in one can of baby shrimp. towards the end, added a few torn leaves of spinach for color and let them wilt in the heat. got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Instead of roasting the red peppers myself I use 1 1/2 jars of it. For us, the red pepper flavor took over the soup. I would cut that in half next time and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
First time making soup and peeling the peppers took some time and effort (made the mistake of cutting some of them smaller than they should be)I was a little worried as it was simmering but after I put them in the blender the color looked great and tasted great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I made this soup for a ladies luncheon today and I am now a hero. With crab at $29.00/lb. I'd better be something. Other than peeling of the peppers, it goes together pretty fast and easy. I almost made it as written but the calorie fairy was screaming in my ear so I used non fat half n half, fresh garlic and added a couple tbls. of tomato paste ( have you all discovered the tomato paste in the tube...love the stuff and no waste when you just want to add a small amount ). Used the 'ole immersion blender, which I love, because you don't have to dirty the blender. Even the lower fat version was sinful. I made 5 copies of the recipe cuz I had 5 ladies and they all wanted the recipe. Thanks for sharing this impressive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Wonderful recipe! Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This soup is lovely and easy to make. I toyed with the idea of buying jarred roasted peppers, but in the end I decided to do the recipe exactly as written. Very nice bisque type of flavor and the cayenne gives it a kick. The crab is the icing on the cake. This would make a lovely Friday night lent meal with bread and a salad. It makes a large amount. Great soup. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Very nice delicate flavor and just the right amount of spiciness from the cayenne. I used a pint of milk and a pint of half & half to cut done on fat and also added 1/2 tsp of Old Bay and 2 tbsp of cooking sherry. Great addition to our Valentine's Day dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Cauliflower and Leek Soup

Creamy soup that will fill you and warm you up on a chilly day.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States