Roasted Red Pepper and Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I thought this was delicious. I am allergic to shellfish so I just used the imitation and turned out great. I also made sure to blend the soup on high for about a minute to increase the thickness and really helped with the flavor. I also added a few extra dashes of salt at the end after I tasted the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
good base but no what i was looking for flavor wise. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
SO good. I had a great time making this one, too. Thanks for teaching me how to roast my own red peppers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Is a wonderful soup.. One hint about the red peppers you can roast them on the grill or in the oven as mentioned but then immedietly add them to a bowl of ice cold water and let them cool and they will be easy to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARONANNH
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Made this today for a simple b-day dinner for my husband. I don't usually review as I often tweak a recipe based on our preferences or dietary needs. I think this recipe can take a lot of changes based on preference/need and still be fantastic. I used fresh garlic and, since it was in the fridge, half a small onion. Upped the cayenne, added Old Bay (I live in MD - I think it is a crime here to not use Old Bay when working crab), and used fresh basil. Last, I used soy milk in lieu of half and half for diet needs. I made it this afternoon and put it in the fridge. Tonight when we came home, I pulled it out, added a dollop of sherry (and I can't say that was necessary just a b-day frill) and the crabs. Ahhh! Delish! For those who are having trouble peeling the peppers, try a gentle squish. The flesh of the pepper seems to just slide away from the skin. It took me about 12 minutes to peel the peppers and I went through the peels a second time to make sure I got every bit of pepper I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was a really great recipe! Like everyone else I changed a few things. I added some cumin, rosemary, & thyme for spices. We had tons of roma tomatoes from the garden so i peeled and added 5 of those as well. Overall this was a great soup. I'll be making a large batch of this soup and freezing it so I can have it on hand throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
On a post surgery puree diet and needed something different. made this with 4 bell peppers and 1 quart of skim plus milk and it was delish. I didn't have it with the crab, but ccan only imagine how much better it would be with it in it! Great recipe. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerzeeegirll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Excellent, absolutely delicious. I get the roasted red peppers in the jar to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This soup is great for taking to work. I've tested out several various recipes and this one by far is my fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Disappointing. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States