Roasted Red Pepper and Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CrdsGrl
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Loved this recipe! I changed a couple of things, used fresh basil instead of dried, added chopped onion and garlic, spooned in tomato paste to kick up the color and add a little thickener, bought canned roasted red peppers (way easier), and added a splash of sherry in the bowl before spooning in the soup. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I LOVE this soup! I like a little more texture, so I added sauteed onion and celery and left about 2 1/2 peppers unblended. I skipped the 1/2 & 1/2 and topped this with whipped cream and chopped flat-leaf. Soooo good. I can't wait for crab to be in season so I can use big chunks of Dungeness, instead of the flake white crab meat (which was lovely, but not the same...). Thanks for the recipe - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this recipe for a mid-winter dinner party. It was exceptional! I prepared the soup (everything except the crab) the day before. Peeling the red peppers was easy enough, but it was still quite tedious and took about 40 minutes to do. I found that the places where the skin was blackened peeled very easily; the places where the pepper pieces didn't lie flat did not blacken and so did not peel as easily. I used only 1/2 tsp salt, deciding to let the guests add more if they wished. I used the full 1/4 tsp of cayenne knowing that our friends don't mind spicyness. When I tasted it, it was quite spicy, but not overly. I refrigerated the soup overnight. I added the crab when starting to reheat the soup about 30 minutes prior to serving. The cayenne had mellowed overnight. The soup's flavour was absolutely lovely. It was worth all the effort. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is a good substitute for the lobster bisque I crave from my favorite restaurant. I used imitation lobster since I didn't have any real crab or other seafood in my house and I was looking for a good dish to warm up for dinner after class tomorrow. I also used evaported skim milk instead of the cream and it was just as good (much less fat). Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is an okay, average tasting soup that on its face might be worthy of three stars. However, when you consider the effort involved (I not only roasted the peppers but made my own chicken broth as well) and the expense (crab meat is not cheap, particularly the jumbo lump crab I used) hubs and I both agree this is a mediocre soup, boring, bland and uninspired. Sherry might have been a nice addition, as well as maybe starting this off by sauteeing the "holy trinity" of carrots, onions and celery. Fish stock or clam juice could be used as well, and would have complemented the crab. It definitely needs more depth and rounded out flavors. As is, it basically tasted no more than what it was - pureed roasted peppers and half and half with some crab meat thrown in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
excellent-- used fresh garlic and basil and-whipping cream also added a few shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Very good soup. This method of roasting the red peppers is so much easier/quicker than doing them whole. I will use this method from now on. I used 3 cans of evaporated milk in lieu of the half-n-half. It's a very rich soup, and with the cost of crab, a very expensive soup, so I won't be making it often, but it's a great recipe to file under "dinner party".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I used fresh garlic and basil but otherwise followed the recipe...It's even better the next day! Just the right amount of heat. I think I'll try it without the crab for a soup and sandwich night...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This soup is absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was wonderful! My husband was skeptical when I first told him I was going to make it, but he loved it so much that he told me he would never doubt my judegment again. I think next time I'm going to try it with bacon instead of crab, since I'm not too crazy about crab. The presentation is beautiful, especially with a little parsley on top, and I can't wait to make it for my next dinner party. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States