Roasted Red Pepper and Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I made this for X-mas eve dinner. I generally do not make recipes that are time consuming, but we enjoyed this so much I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I used fresh garlic and basil but otherwise followed the recipe...It's even better the next day! Just the right amount of heat. I think I'll try it without the crab for a soup and sandwich night...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This soup was good, but needed something more. I used fresh basil and three garlic cloves instead of the dry seasonings. Doubled the cayenne and added a tsp. of Old Bay. I did use imitation crab, and I think that was what left me slightly disappointed. I will make this again with real crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This soup is absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Oh my god, this soup is wonderful. Tastes like it came from an upscale restaurant. Expensive and time consuming (preparing peppers) but worth it. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
AMAZING and so worth the work. If I could give it more than five stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this recipe for a mid-winter dinner party. It was exceptional! I prepared the soup (everything except the crab) the day before. Peeling the red peppers was easy enough, but it was still quite tedious and took about 40 minutes to do. I found that the places where the skin was blackened peeled very easily; the places where the pepper pieces didn't lie flat did not blacken and so did not peel as easily. I used only 1/2 tsp salt, deciding to let the guests add more if they wished. I used the full 1/4 tsp of cayenne knowing that our friends don't mind spicyness. When I tasted it, it was quite spicy, but not overly. I refrigerated the soup overnight. I added the crab when starting to reheat the soup about 30 minutes prior to serving. The cayenne had mellowed overnight. The soup's flavour was absolutely lovely. It was worth all the effort. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Awesome soup!!! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for our first course soup on Christmas dinner. I microwaved the potato to skip the 45 minutes to boil them. I also boiled crab legs in the chicken broth until opaque then removed. Then I added the potato, roasted peppers, seasonings and half and half - then followed this recipe. It ended up being the favorite part of dinner --- everyone asked for the recipe. Some even had 2 or 3 bowls! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This soup was positively divine!! I used imitation crab meat and added about a tbsp of sugar and thought I had died and gone to heaven. Even my bird, who doesn't care for anything other than corn and seeds, couldn't get enough of the stuff and I eventually had to stop feeding him mine and get him his own bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States