Roasted Red Pepper and Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
We used a fish and vegetable stock, it made it a stronger seafood flavour. The bell pepper was really delicious. The soup was thinner than I expected, but still flavourful. However next time I will use less cream. We also used real garlic. It was very tasty, and I'm not even a seafood fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic! I made this soup following the directions to the letter and it was received by everyone with applause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWESY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
for me it was alittle time consuming but well worth it. This soup will be a regular in my household
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Ern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I saved time by using pre-made roasted red peppers. Other than that, followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrdsGrl
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Loved this recipe! I changed a couple of things, used fresh basil instead of dried, added chopped onion and garlic, spooned in tomato paste to kick up the color and add a little thickener, bought canned roasted red peppers (way easier), and added a splash of sherry in the bowl before spooning in the soup. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrdsGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I made this recipe for my friends and they all thought it was delicious. I wanted it to be cost effective so I bought canned fancy crab instead of searching the seafood counter for fresh crab and it worked out wonderfully. I also experimented with the spices and added a little more garlic powder to spice it up some more. It was a very rich, hearty soup that we all definitely enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Very good soup. I wasn't so sure while it was boiling--perhaps bc I used regular milk it looked all watery. But after processing, it mixed together well and was good. I didn't like the crab in it so much, though, so if I make it again I'll omit that. Check out Sunny B's pic! It's beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Very good. I added some garlic and celery. Only blended 1/2 of it and added back to pan. Might cut back a little on the amount of crab next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I LOVE this soup! I like a little more texture, so I added sauteed onion and celery and left about 2 1/2 peppers unblended. I skipped the 1/2 & 1/2 and topped this with whipped cream and chopped flat-leaf. Soooo good. I can't wait for crab to be in season so I can use big chunks of Dungeness, instead of the flake white crab meat (which was lovely, but not the same...). Thanks for the recipe - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I didn't have enough chicken broth so I threw in a little water with it...didn't really measure how much potato or red pepper I put in there, since I was just making it for two people. Also, I used cut up red pepper from the jar so I didn't peel the skins or anything. Because I didn't follow exactly I didn't know how everything would turn out (did put the exact amount of spices recommended though). Boyfriend wasn't a huge fan, even though he likes both red peppers and crab; I, however, thought it was pretty good. Something different, and it was pretty filling. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States