Roasted Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Made the soup for dinner tonight and used several pieces advice from others...added some more garlic, pepper, and oregano. I also followed the directions someone else gave of halving and seeding the peppers prior to roasting. This eliminated the need for flipping and turning the peppers. Husband loved it also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This recipe lacks a bit of flavor, but I dressed it up to make it work. I doubled the garlic, added basil, and one 15-oz can of tomato sauce. It was pretty good after that. [Note: When roasting the bell peppers, cut them in half first, stem and seed them, then lay them open face down on the baking tray. That way, you don't have to use tongs to flip them in your oven.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I have been having great fun with this recipe and my family (including 2 year old triplets) doesn't mind at all - they love it! The first time I made it I used a 16oz can of roasted peppers. I added some things I had in the house like a half empty bag of three cheese tortellini and a bunch of fresh asparagus spears (it looked very pretty). The second time I roasted my own peppers and it was really good but everyone commented that the difference between the fresh and the canned was so subtle I can get away with not soing the extra work. This time I only added fresh mini ravioli. My sisters commented that it didn't really need any additions and I agree. I am making it tonight for a church dinner and I will leave it plain, but I will bring along some crumbled Feta - that sounds so good! Thanks for a healthy, delicious and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Floral Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was really good, simple and easy to make too! My peppers may have been small, I'd like a little more of the pepper taste so I may add an extra pepper. I might even play around and try just a little tomato in it. Its really good as is though, I sprinkled some baked tortilla strips on top. Yum Yum Yum! OK, I had to revise my review. With my changes....I prefer using great northern beans (not sure why they made a difference to me?) and I used 4 roasted peppers and put in a small can of whole tomatoes. Perfection! I also use veggie boullion cube instead of chicken broth as I am a vegetarian. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
Amazing! One of my new favorites. I use a jar of roasted red peppers sometimes for speed instead of roasting them myself. I'll also add a few fresh basil leaves at the end of the pureeing process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I used a 12 oz. jar of drained sweet roasted red peppers. The soup looked like an elegant soup you'd have at a restaurant. It was surprising & a nice change to have a creamed soup that was thickened with beans instead of cream. I tried some with a dollop of sour cream on top and some with some with goat cheese (I'd gotten some in a gift basket) on top, as suggested in the recipe, & preferred it without the additions. It does need some salt & pepper while cooking or at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Excellent taste. I recommend adding chicken breast chunks. Roasting the peppers is the hardest part. I think there are more like 6 servings instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This serves six only if you want a little cup of soup. If you want a big bowl, you need to double the recipe to serve six. I cut back on the garlic a bit, used Great Northern beans, and garnished with chopped cooked bacon. Great texture, great flavor. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This soup is so delicious. I highly recommend it for family and especially company. To cut down on the time, instead of roasting the red bell peppers myself I used roasted red bell peppers from a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This soup is very unique. I added a few basil leaves to the last batch in the blender and it tasted great. I also didn't fully puree all of the soup to give it some texture. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Ortiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States