Roasted Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was ok, but not great. I may have done something wrong, might try it again. The soup was very bland and even extra spices, pasta, etc. couldn't help it. Ended up tossing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This had good flavor, and I like the idea of using beans to give the soup a creamy texture. It was a touch too beany for my taste, though--next time, I'll reduce the beans and increase the peppers. The only change I made is to use vegetable broth instead of chicken. This is a very filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This soup was okay. I only used 1 can of beans and that was all I could taste. Maybe need more red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is a soup even my girls (11 and 12) enjoyed. They've already asked when can they have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I really loved this soup. I used two red bell peppers and one yellow - it seemed to work just fine. I also only put half of the soup into the blender, after reading some reviews that it might be better that way. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnywalk

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I made this for the first time last night and after dinner caught my husband bent over the stove, scooping the last of the soup from the pot. He loved it. I had loaned our blender to a friend so used a masher to blend everything together after it was cooked. I think we liked the chunks in the soup much better than having it pureed, but I'll try it both ways and see. I served marinated chicken with this soup along with a salad, and during Tom's second helping he cut up his chicken and dropped it into the soup "just to see" what it tasted like. He LOVED it. The marinade was Lawry's 30-minute marinade, "Thai Ginger with Lime Juice." These marinades are FABULOUS. Another we've had was the "Louisiana Red Pepper" and it's terrific. We have one more to try called "Tequila Lime with Lime Juice" and I have no doubt it will be delicious as well. We've only tried the first two on chicken so clearly there's some experimentation that needs to be done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Pretty good, but not fantastic. The texture was a little gritty for my taste. I thought the flavor was great, though. My 5 yr old loved it, my 3 yr old gagged :o) The changes I made upon previous recommendations: Added 16 oz tomato sauce Added fresh basil (yum!) Used vegetable broth instead of chicken Roasted peppers by cutting in half and placing face down I'd like to try this recipe again since the flavor was so yummy... but maybe not puree the beans??? If anybody has any suggestions, please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
All I added was a dollop of sour cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Extremely bland even after adding the tomato sauce and fresh thyme as suggested in other comments. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is a really good, easy soup. My nine year old daughter loves this soup. Nobody in the household is crazy about bell peppers, but roasting them makes them good, and this soup makes them even better. I'm making this again tonight w/ some shrimp and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States