Roasted Red Bell Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I must say after making this now twice, it just is surprising how good it is. I would never have thought of,this as just a meal on its own, but it is very filling. The first time I used half the beans and it was a bit thin. The second time I followed the recipe to the letter and it was perfect. A definite redo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this soup today and found it very BLAND. I used low sodium broth due to health restrctions. I added basil, Mrs Dash's salt replacement, some ground red pepper, and I feel its still very blah. Any suggestions for a low sodium kick for this recipe? It great having all the protein with no cholesterol in the recipe. Need help adjusting the seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I found this recipe trying to use up some old mini sweet peppers. I roasted two large peppers, 5 garlic cloves and the peppers and blended all in food processor. I chopped up celery and sautéed them until soft. I added 3t salt, a bunch of cracked pepper, basil, oregano, 1 1/2 t cumin, and a bunch of cayenne. I didn't add any broth. I think I didn't have enough peppers but it was delish. I cooked it for a while but eventually added everything to my vitamix for s super smooth soup. Now I just need a grilled cheese with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was a pretty tasty soup which uses roasted red bell pepper blended with beans for a yummy result. I did a few things differently from the recipe though. I’m not the biggest fan of white beans so I used pinto beans instead which complimented the flavor of the roasted red bell peppers. Vegetable broth was used as opposed to chicken broth and the garlic was doubled. This was really simple to make and only used a couple of ingredients. This was very smooth and nice to have on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I made this for a dinner party last night and everyone loved it and wanted seconds! Definitely a hit! Based on the reviews, I did make a few modification - I only used one can of beans instead of two, I added a few dashes of oregano and cayenne pepper for a nice kick, and before serving a drizzled the top with a beautiful truffle oil and added a dollop of plain Greek yogourt (a healthier alternative to sour cream). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I shouldnt rate this only because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. But the recipe as written sounded a little bland and I didnt have fresh tomatoes. So in its place I used 2 cans - one diced can and one stewed "mexican" can. I also added fresh chopped basil. I also did not use the roux, it seemed like a step it didnt need. Plus, I only had 2 cups of chicken broth so I used veggie broth for the remainder. But -It was VERY good. I even reserved a small portion of the soup to experiment with and added a little buttermilk to that small portion and it was good as well. Glad I tried this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Very simple and tasty recipe. Couple things I might do differently - run through a sieve since it was a little gritty. I'm pretty sure that it's caused from the peppers but it could be a combination of the peppers and the beans. Secondly, I would add a little paprika or powdered chipotle to just give it a "little something".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I tasted the soup before it went into the blender, and the flavor was robust with the sweetness of the roasted red peppers, garlic and onion. Unfortunately, after it was pureed, the bean flavor just overpowered the peppers. I found no issue at all with the texture of the soup, it pureed beautifully. My major criticism is that there simply are too many beans, the pepper flavor is lost, and it ends up flat. I tweaked it enough that it was salvageable, and I will try this recipe again, but it will be with one can of beans, not two. My 3-star rating is based on how the recipe is written, but I do think it has potential to be an outstanding soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Excellent! It's a bit messy peeling and de-seeding the peppers but definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was good, warmed my tummy up. Couldn't find cannellini beans anywhere so subbed in some butter beans. It cooks up very nice and blended well. It does have a little textural issue, but wasn't bad. A little on the bland side for me. Tweaking would only make it better. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States