Roasted Rack of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I used a petite rack of lamb from Costco, 8 ribs though. I agree with the many others who say the salt could be cut, but not eliminated, say by half. I let the meat rest out of the fridge for about an hour before starting the recipe, those who needed to cook the rack longer than the recipe states either have their oven too low (get it calibrated) or started with the meat too cold. Anyway, after 12 minutes in the oven it was perfectly medium rare in the middle and medium/medium well on the end cuts. It was incredibly easy as well, what more could you ask from a recipe that would impress the Queen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1085 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Restaurant quality!! I made a few small additions as I picked up a few things from reviews and other recipes: In a fry pan, I heated up about 2 tbsn of olive oil, threw in the minced garlic and some finely chopped shallots, added a splash of balsamic vinegar, and a smaller splash of worcestershire sauce. I added italian seasoned breadcrumbs (left out the salt) and put chopped rosemary & thyme at the end. Stirred it up a bit, and set it aside. Turned out SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
544 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
My oh my was this good! My guests were licking the bones! Remember when searing..DON'T TOUCH IT or MOVE IT AROUND. Everything will be much juicier! The old cast iron pan is the best to sear in and then throw in the oven. This recipe was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Fabulous recipe! It's very simple to put together and the results were excellent even though we used dried rosemary and granulated garlic. My husband has eaten a lot of lamb and he raved that this was the best he's ever had! For a 1.40 lb, 7-rib rack, searing + 17 minutes in the oven produced a medium-RARE roast (some deeper glossy red in the center). I strongly recommend a digital instant-read thermometer when making this recipe Also, if not working with an oven-proof skillet, have your roaster pre-heated in the oven for immediate transfer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Can I give eleventeen stars? My tweaks: I didn't use any salt (easier to add to taste than to take away). I seared the lamb in olive oil and garlic. I ALWAYS have the jarred chopped garlic on hand, so I added garlic to the dijon mustard and then diluted the dijon mustard with some of the juice from the garlic. I mixed the bread crumbs with fresh ground pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and rosemary; In the oven at 350 for 45 minutes, then 400 for 15 minutes, then cut the rack into individual ribs for another 15 minutes. Cooking it slower makes it more tender and juicy. This has gotten the most raves out of anything I've made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiltswinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I've been making this recipe for at least 11 YEARS and not once have I ever had anyone complain. I use it on my beef tenderloin too. I have people that would never touch lamb asking when the next time I'll be making it ...give this recipe a try ...you'll be the rave of the town!! ... I use a little bit of Thyme and also crushed rosemary only because the fresh rosemary is sometimes more difficult to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina'sEast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
My mother in-law and my husband both thought that they were eating at one of the finest resteraunts! The lamb took a little longer than I had anticipated and is a little bit messy, but well worth any of the trouble!!! So delicious ....!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
My wife and I prepared this recipe with "Rack of Pork Loin", centre cut. We replaced the fresh rosemary with 1 tsp of dried rosemary and were delighted with the results. cooking time was longer than the stated time but ended up absolutely delicious..... Jerry and Rosa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KEANSOR
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Absolutely awesome. Everything was perfect, including the timing (12 mins. for rare). Served with "Greek Style Potatoes" from this site, some really good olives, and my own asparagus recipe (with tomatoes and garlic, which I'll be posting tonight). Incredibly romantic dinner for two, with leftovers for lunches to remember it with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I think this is a great recipe. Like others I found that it took a little longer for me to cook - 30 minutes for medium lamb. I also used less salt and would use less garlic next time. Will definitely cook this again. A 7-bone rack of lamb would not be enough for 4 servings at my place - Sydney Australia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Rack of Lamb

An amazing roast rack of lamb encrusted with mustard and seasoned bread crumbs.

Mint-Crusted Rack of Lamb

See how to make a traditional mint-crusted lamb with honey vinaigrette.

Pistachio-Crusted Rack of Lamb

See how to make the perfect holiday lamb recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States