Roasted Rack of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe is easy to follow and it turned out great. I would use a little bit less salt than the recipe calls for, but other than that, its a guest pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this today for Easter. It was delicious and idiot proof. The center was medium rare and the side chops were medium well. Everyone loved it! This recipe is a keeper. I omitted all salt and used a champagne mustard. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
OMGosh... I love Lamb. This is my favorite. It is better than what you have to pay $30.00 or more at a good restaurant. I go to Sam's Club and get the two pack. (Watch out because some have only one rack, and the rack is much bigger.) I pay $16-$21 for two racks. (one for now and one for later !!) My wife don't eat Lamb, so Yum to Me. This size rack cooks PERFECTLY for me in 14 minutes. This gives a perfect med rare to medium doneness. Do not overcook, but I do not like to poke a hole in my meat either, as the juices will definitely run out. Just trust the timer and change accordingly next time. (My time includes EXACTLY 1 1/2 to 2 minutes of browning on each of three sides using high heat in a cast iron (lodge) skillet.) It rests around 2-3 minutes after browning prior to applying crust and dijon mustard. DO LET IT REST !! Worth the short wait to keep juices in the meat. Try this simple mint sauce. 1/3 c. white wine vinegar, 1/4 c. sugar, and 1/4 c. fresh chopped mint. Bring to boil. set pan on ice cubes to make sauce cool before using. (FAB !!) You will be hooked on this Lamb !! I want some more right NOW...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
The flavor was good, but I halved the rosemary and garlic, and even then it was a bit over-powering. I halved the salt based on others' recommendations, as well. I cooked it twice as long as indicated before it got to the correct temperature. It was moist and tender and had a good flavor, but just a bit too much flavor. Thank you for sharing it. I have always wanted to try to make lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Outstanding. Made this for the hubby and me last night. Restaurant quality meal and definitely company worthy. I cooked it a little longer than stated, but I took it right out of the fridge. Definitely will repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kylewheeler
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Was great!! Bought a slab at the local WM for around $5. Seared the lamb, and while I was doing that, I had some charcoal heating up in the grill. Grilled until meat thermometer said around 150. Lamb shared the grill with some asparagus seasoned with salt +pepper. Also made the pumpkin cheesecake II recipe. Was delicious! Will probably use the breading for other things as well (steaks, chicken, pork). Only downside was the quality of the meat from WM. I'd buy at a meat market if possible, and will definitely recommend this to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
ROASTING TIP: Make sure you determine how fatty/lean your lamb is before you set the temperature. I made the mistake of roasting a fatty lamb at 450 and it came out rather tough on the inside due to the high heat. For fattier cuts, try roasting for longer at 325-350 degrees. Mistakes aside, this recipe was fantastic. Used whole grain dijon which added some really nice texture along with italian breadcrumbs. I skipped out on the rosemary and it was still fantastic. The bf loved it. Will be making again at a different temperature next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I made this for Easter last year and everyone loved it. No leftovers. I plan on using it for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
OMG...I have cooked many lamb recipes but this one is out of the ballpark. My husband said it was the best meal he had in a long time and no restaurant that he had ever been to had lamb that good. He talked about it for two days. I do agree that cutting back on the salt is something to consider but if you don't you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Delish! Definitely cut back on the salt because it was way too salty. Otherwise, a terrific recipe. Will make it again, and again, and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Rack of Lamb

An amazing roast rack of lamb encrusted with mustard and seasoned bread crumbs.

Mint-Crusted Rack of Lamb

See how to make a traditional mint-crusted lamb with honey vinaigrette.

Pistachio-Crusted Rack of Lamb

See how to make the perfect holiday lamb recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States