Roasted Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
this recipe worked for me, however i used way more salt and cooked it for at least an hour, turning frequently. a dash of sugar at the end was interesting, but i like the original better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I admit it...I wing it. I don't have much time so I just throw things together. I did not wash the seeds or soak them at all. I threw it all together and put it on a pan and put it in the oven until it was done. I forgot to set the timer so I don't even know how long it took. But the seeds turned out fabulous! If it doesn't taste right, I think it could be your seeds. Just a thought. Thank you for keeping this recipe simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Followed directions to a tee and watched video.....alas, did not care for this recipe at all. Very bitter..... it was like trying to eat pieces of wood. Will never try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I personally didn't love these, but I don't like pumpkin seeds. The kids and hubby loved them, though. They wanted to dig more seeds out of the trash from our pumpkin carving afternoon adventure, but I told them we had roasted plenty! I did salt them again when pulled out of the oven. Will do this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
The variations on this recipe are many. You can used garlic salt and parmesan or if you like them spicy some cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Following the advice of other reviewers, I first boiled the seeds in heavily salted water until they turned somewhat gray. I then coated the seeds in a mixture of 1 TBS butter, 1 TBS olive oil, and salt after which I roasted them in the 300 degree oven for about 30 minutes on a foil-lined cookie sheet, stirring once. They were delicious and more flavorful than those I've merely roasted in salt and oil for many years. Thanks to the originator and to those reviewers who added suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
300 degrees for 45 minutes is way too hot for too long. My oven is accurate and if anything runs a bit cool. Set the timer for 15 minutes to stir them and they were already browned. After 30 minutes they were beginning to smell burnt. I turned the oven down to 250 and left them for another 5 minutes. After cooling they taste overly browned...almost burnt. The shells are so over baked that they crumble instead of split. It's easier to eat the entire seed, shell and all...but the taste isn't good. Suggest turning your oven down to 250 and baking a little longer. I will also try what others have suggested and boil the seeds first in salted water, allow to dry and then roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Here is my helpful hint. When cleaning out the inside of the pumpkin use an ice-cream scoop. I broke my large spoon scooping one year and went to the drawer and saw the ice-cream scoop, tried it and never looked back. Love roasted pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a fair recipe for people with experience baking pumpkin seeds before, but for beginners, just thought i would add a few notes. 1) You need to clean the seeds off first by rinsing them in a collander under cold water until there are no pumpkin guts left on the. 2) After rinsing them, if you boil the seeds in a pot with some salt(you can add other seasonings too)then the shells will be much crispier after baking, and also it helps make them easier to digest. *approximately 3 cups water per cup of pumpkin seeds* 3)Just a note: adding other seasonings can be a very fun experience. my favorites are salt,rosemary, and garlic powder; and brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. all are very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I have done something similar. I rise them in salted water for about ten minutes. Five if you're stirring. Then I lay them out on a cookie sheet and pour melted butter over them and sprinkle garlic salt on them. (Some people add Lawry's season salt but not I) And then I bake them on 350 until they brown. Witch is usually like 15 minutes just depends on what size pumpkins you get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Oven-roasted pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States