Roasted Potatoes with Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KAITCH
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Any previous potato recipe that I have rated 5 stars has now become 3. WOW! These are fantastic! We love roasted potatoes in our house, and these have so much more flavour than my usual method of tossing in olive oil, garlic and rosemary. I doubled the recipe and my husband and I were fighting over who got to finish them off! Adding the spinach is a nice touch - even the kids ate it - although I will be making these potatoes frequently with or without the greens. Maybe using the small red potatoes is the secret here; they were so soft and creamy tasting but held their shape nicely. And for sure the fresh ground sea salt and black pepper are a must. I shredded some asiago cheese over them before serving, as it was the hardest cheese I had on hand. I forgot the drizzle of olive oil, but they didn't need it. Fabulous potatoes, Lisa! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
FANTASTIC potatoe receipe... not to mention the lovely spinach for that added nutritional value. My husband and I tried this with regular russet potatoes since I was out of red, and I cut them into sections which resembled the size of quartered red potatoes. No issues at all with the substitution. I think it's the garlic infused butter which really makes this receipe. Husband tried it with olive oil at serving, I tried it with cheese... think I'll go the olive oil in the future. Excellent receipe, thank you so much for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This was pretty good. I think it need a few less potatoes in the recipe but otherwise my guests liked it. Not much more to add than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Great Recipe!!! I will definately make this one again... and again.. I sprinkled the parmesan over the potatoes at the end.. For some reason it took a while for the potatoes to be cooked 45 mins.. it's probably my stove! Thanks so much for submitting this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURSEONALITY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was a big hit at Easter. We served a Lamb Roast with these potatoes and steamed broccolli. The potatoes were devoured! My husband says that these are his new favorite. Also, he likes that the sodium is low. Thanks for sharing this recipe! We will definitely be having these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Fast. Easy. Delicious . !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Very good. I use more spinach than called for since a cup really ends up being little after it wilts. Good to serve with grilled foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
very good. perfect light summer fare. added more garlic (my weakness, i love it). not to mention that it looks quite elegant when served. enjoyed it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
YUM! YUM! YUM! I looooved these potatoes! I did microwave my quartered taters first (under a wet paper towel) for a few minutes, just to make sure that they cooked all the way through in the oven without getting dry. One issue I always have with roasted potatoes is the dryness, but these were perfect. These would also be great made with turnip greens instead of spinach. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Excellent and quick recipe. I made them in a round pan, and added more spinach. I could also see adding bits of bacon to this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States