Roasted Potatoes with Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was sooo good! However, I did change the procedure a little bit. I saute the potatoes in oil with some onions and garlic first, then added the rosemary and a little bit of cayenne pepper for heat. Then I tranfered it to a sprayed dish, and baked covered for 15 min, and then uncovered for another 15 min. The potatoes where soft and crispy, and the spinach added wondferful color and texture. Will definaly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAITCH
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Any previous potato recipe that I have rated 5 stars has now become 3. WOW! These are fantastic! We love roasted potatoes in our house, and these have so much more flavour than my usual method of tossing in olive oil, garlic and rosemary. I doubled the recipe and my husband and I were fighting over who got to finish them off! Adding the spinach is a nice touch - even the kids ate it - although I will be making these potatoes frequently with or without the greens. Maybe using the small red potatoes is the secret here; they were so soft and creamy tasting but held their shape nicely. And for sure the fresh ground sea salt and black pepper are a must. I shredded some asiago cheese over them before serving, as it was the hardest cheese I had on hand. I forgot the drizzle of olive oil, but they didn't need it. Fabulous potatoes, Lisa! Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
These potatoes are phenomenal! I increased the recipe to use 2 lbs of tiny red potatoes, and used a 10 oz package of fresh baby spinach. It looked like a lot of greens, but wilted down to the perfect amount. I didn't have any rosemary, but this recipe doesn't need it. Freshly grated parmesan cheese sprinkled liberally on top is the crowning glory. This one will definitely be a staple at my dinner table from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I wanted these good and golden brown, so I increased the oven temperature to 425 degrees. I gave them a stir midway through the roasting time. When I tossed in the spinach I found it wilted quickly, so returning the pan to the oven wasn't even necessary. This was extraordinary, simple as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This was very good. I made a few changes, though. I used regular potatoes because that is all I had. I steamed them for a few minutes after cutting them up to start the cooking process. I used extra garlic. (My husband said to use even more next time!) I cooked them covered in the oven for about 20 minutes then uncovered them for another 15-20 minutes so they wouldn't dry out and get hard. I drizzled a little olive oil after tossing the spinach with the potatoes. Good. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This side dish is absolutely wonderful! We loved it and the addition of spinach was brilliant! The combination worked beautifully. I'll be making this time and again since it works well alongside just about everything! I did add slightly more spinach than the recipe called for because the first time I made it I found the spinach wilted away and there was barely any left. Thanks for sharing such a simple but great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Perfect! Using "small" red potates is the key along w/ "ceramic" dish. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
The rosemary and spinach made my home smell wonderful and added a subtle but delicious taste. However, I would spray the pan next time or use 3T of butter. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
These were delicious! I used this as a very last minute thing so was worried because I did not have any spinach - but read other reviews that said it would also be good without the spinach and it was! I also had to use canned whole new potatoes and they turned out perfect - nice and browned on the outside and yummy soft on the inside! The flavors were fabulous. I will make it again with fresh potatoes and spinach, but in a pinch it was good with the substitutes. Very easy to prepare as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I thought these were good but not necessarily great. I ended up drizzling extra virgin olive oil over everything before I put it back in the oven to wilt the spinach. I'm glad I did because they were looking really dry when I first took them out. As for flavor- all I could really taste was rosemary (which isn't so bad) but from that aspect I have another recipe for roasted rosemary potatoes that I like much better. I probably won't make this again but I'll definitely add some spinach to my potatoes from now on- very nice combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, crispy, delicious roasted red potatoes.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States