Roasted Potato Salad with Balsamic Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this recipe for a small wedding reception. I agree with a couple of the reviewers that the color is not similar to what you are used to from the deli counter. I lightened the color of the dressing by adding 2T. Sour cream and 2 T. Mayo to the dressing. This was done to make the color of the salad more familiar to the wedding guests. The salad as is does have wonderful flavor. Foodies and adventuresome types loved this. I have had several requests for my recipe. I diced my potatoes into 1/2-3/4" cubes, coated them with the oil,and put them into a cold oven, turned the oven on and 25 minutes later the potatoes were done. I do think the salad tastes better at room temp. so take it out of the frig 20-30 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Watch the time on your potatoes, as mine were cooked, browned, and out of the oven in 30 minutes. I had to make a couple of substitutions based on what I had. I used russet potatoes instead of red, and blue cheese instead of gorgonzola, otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter. We found this potato salad CRAZY good and a perfect side dish to the grilled chicken we had for dinner. A little reminiscent of mediterranean flavors which suits us fine. I used white balsamic vinegar for presentation purposes, and will use gorgonzola in the future, as I think its milder flavor will work better than blue cheese. One comment...definitely liked it much better warm as opposed to chilled. Totally lived up to my expectations, and will be made often. Thanks, Zin, for this innovative potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
When I first saw this, I liked the sounds of the roasted potato flavors, and the sound of the dressing flavors... but I disliked too many of the main ingredients. i.e. don't like olives, artichoke hearts and peppers only done certain ways (and not like this). So... I decided to try it as just a roasted potato salad with the rest of the ingredients. Normally I would NEVER review a recipe I had changed so drastically cause I don't think that's fair. But, the things I disliked had nothing to do with what I changed, so I'm rating it anyway. I'm a cheese lover but discovered I don't care for Gorgonzola! It was suggested I try Havarti, and I also found a "Mediterranean" gouda (had tiny bits of olive, dried tomato and herbs in it). I used both and I will say they both worked well with these flavors. I figured I used about 3/4 the "bulk" of the salad, so scaled the dressing to 3/4. I liked the dressing. Now, I liked the potatoes when they came out of the oven, and really, I could see making just that part for a side dish. What I really disliked was the roasted potatoes in a salad like this - i.e. potatoes alone good, dressing good, but roasted potatoes IN the salad, no. Just didn't seem to "match." I would like to try just cooked potatoes like a normal potato salad, or possibly adding the roasting ingredients to the dressing sans the extra oil. But definitely an interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Sorry, I just can't recommend this recipe as it stands. I made it EXACTLY to specifications and found that it first of all looked unappetizing -- a sickly mushy brown color all over (thanks to the balsamic). Second of all, it was much too tangy (again, the vinegar). Finally, the garlic really came on strong in the dish. Otherwise, it is a clever mixture of tastes and colors and I thought it was an inspired idea. I tried the mixture without the dressing before I added it and found it to be quite tasty, with several colorful elements. My recommendation is to either: 1) remove the dressing altogether, especially if serving to guests that don't like powerful dishes; or 2) cut the vinegar and garlic by half and/or substitute a quality white wine vinegar. This way, the natural tastes and colors of the dish aren't overwhelmed by the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Took a little time to make but was SO worth it! A very unique potato dish....I make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was amazing!! I didn't have any dried herbs,and I chose to leave out the Gorgonzola. It is delicious, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I loved this potato salad! I served it today to my crew with a few minor modifications - I used Spicy Brown mustard instead of Dijon because that is what I had on hand. I also used Garlic Pepper instead of regular pepper. My grocer didn't have any Gorgonzola cheese so I used Asiago. I omitted the olives because I'm not a huge fan, and the taste came out great! Everyone loved it....will definitely make again. It came out beautiful with all of the different colors - someone even made a comment that it looked like a salad from a magazine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is by far the best potato salad I have ever had! My guests raved about it and ate far more of it than I would have imagined. I will say that it is a little bit on the unattractive side if you just throw it in a bowl, but I couldn't care less, given the incredible flavor. To pretty it up, I placed it on lettuce leaves. I would highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was off the hook delicious! I used 3 lbs. of baby reds cut into quarters and roasted (used olive oil instead of canola). I also used sliced balck olives instead of kalamata, marinated artichoke hearts (which I think have wonderful flavor in the marinade) instead of canned and I also used fresh basil in the dressing instead of dried ....Wonderful flavors and the dressing was great on this salad. My company loved it. I really liked the roasted red peppers and artichoke hearts with the potatoes.....really tasty. A nice change of pace from the traditional mayo salads. A keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States