Roasted Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I've made this recipe twice so far, and I've made a couple of adjustments to it. The first time I made it, I made exactly like the directions stated. Although, I used a meat thermometer, because my loin was perfect in 1 1/2 hrs. The second time I made this, I pureed 4 cloves of garlic, 1/2 of the rosemary, and enough olive oil to bind it together. I rubbed my pork loin w/ the paste, then put in a ziploc bag in the fridge for a few hours to marinate. YUM! I threw in some veggies with my loin (carrots, onions and celery) and poured about 1/4 cup of wine in the bottom of the pan. Roasted for about 1.5 hours covered, and everything was perfect! I scooped out the veggies, and then used a can of chicken stock and some cornstarch to make a gravy out of the pan drippings. I served with buttered herb rice and the roasted vegetables. BIG hit! 5 stars! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4065 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbsintheMinded0

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hampton, New York, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I've made this twice and I have to tell you the second time I cheated. I browned the roast then put it in the crock pot and dumped the minced garlic, you know the stuff in a jar and the rosemary on top of the roast and then cut holes in it a kinda pushed the stuff inside and left some on top too. I didn't make a paste. Then I drizled a little olive oil on tbe top added salt, pepper and accent. Threw some dehydrated minced onions on top. Added the wine and cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hrs. It came out just as good if not better then the first time. This is the absolute best pork roast. I'm not even sure if I used a loin. I used that big giant pork roast and cut it and made 3 roasts out of it. Not the small loin cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1835 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Very flavorful, tender and juicy. One note....ALWAYS use a meat thermometer, never trust your oven or a recipe to tell you how long to cook a piece of meat. Mine 2.25lb roast took just over 1 1/2 hours to cook. Also, once the meat is done cooking, cover it with foil and let it rest for at least 10 minutes or it won't be as juicy when you cut it. The roast temp will rise a bit even after you take it out of the oven so account for that in your cooking temp. I didn't have any white wine so I subbed white wine vinegar and chicken broth for the wine. Still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1008 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
My whole family really enjoyed this recipe. The pork was very tender and the sauce was probably the best part besides the wonderful aroma while cooking. I too reduced the cooking time to 1 hour and fifteen minutes and I even had a little over three pounds of pork loin. I also put the garlic/rosemary rub on the meat early in the morning and let it sit covered in the fridge all day. I used very little olive oil, just enough in my mini food processor to hold the rosemary and garlic together, around 2 to 3 tablespoons. My other recommendation would be to double the amount of rosemary/garlic mixture, especially when using more than 2 pounds of meat. I served this along with roasted potatoes and sauteed green beans with almonds........yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is a great tasting roast. I used a 2.8-pound pork loin top loin roast for this recipe. I used fresh rosemary from my garden instead of dried, and added just a little onion and olive oil to the paste rub. About 1/4 through the cooking process, I added a little chicken broth and a little wine to the bottom of the roast, and about 20 minutes later, I turned the roast. I cooked the roast for 1 and ½ hours total, covered it with foil for about 10 minutes, and it came out done but very moist. I recommend using a meat thermometer, cooking time really depends on the cut and size of your meat. I added more chicken broth and wine to the drippings in the pan, a touch of flour to thicken, and everything turned out delicious! I served this with asparagus risotto. Thank you, Kathleen, for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This was a superb dish! I have always hated pork loin, but I think it's because no one ever cooked it like this! My modifications: 1) Cooked at 300 degrees for 2 hours, 2) Substituted basil for rosemary, 3) Substituted 3/4 c. chicken broth for wine. I baked this in a covered dish, and the meat was simply falling apart when done. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I couldn't believe how tender this roast came out! I substituted fresh rosemary instead of the dried and increased it to 3 tablespoons. I also addded a litlle minced onion and lots of pepper. The wine I added as it cooked and then made a very tasty gravy with a mixture of more wine, beef broth, flour, water and of course those great drippings from the pan. I did throw some small fingerling potatoes in the pan about 50 minutes before finish time. Very wonderful, every one loved it. It cooked for about 1 hour 45 minutes for a 3.5 pound roast, but I used a meat thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This recipe was soooo good. I too only cooked it for about 1 hour and 15 minutes and I even doubled the recipe using 2 1/2 pound loins. I used half the rosemary (which was plenty) and doubled the garlic. I also marinated it overnight. This was absolutely great and I will make it again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I made this recipe tonight using a bone-in Boston Butt pork roast. It was almost 5 lbs, so I doubled the recipe. I guessed on the cooking time, but it was about 3 hours. I cut the slits real deep to put the paste mixture in, then blended the olive oil with the remaining mixture in the same processor to rub on the roast. I used a roasting pan with a lid and had a ton of juice to baste with. Oh, I also sliced a sweet onion and layered the bottom of the pan with it and put the roast on top. And when I put the wine in the drippings, I mixed it with some corn starch first, to thicken the gravy up a little. It was delicious! I will most likely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Very very good. I added some red potatoes right into the pot and they came out great. I used a little extra wine for the sauce and added some diced mushrooms. Also added some flour to thicken it a little. Great stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States