Roasted Pears with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aminah Sheríf
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Just made these! They're extraordinarily delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Excellent! I'm not a pistachio fan, so I went with toasted almonds and I added a dash of cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I did a dry run with this recipe today as I'm hosting a dinner party next weekend and thought I wanted this as my dessert. I'm doing a Beef Bourgignon as my main course and want something lighter to end. This was a good choice. The recipe couldn't be simpler. (I think a note for inexperienced cooks about adjusting cooking time depending upon the ripeness of your pears would be helpful.) I knew that mine was ripe enough to adjust the time downward. I peeled the pear, and roasted on the one side for only 15 minutes. I then flipped it and roasted the other side for the prescribed 10 minutes. That left the pear soft enough, but still with a bit of resistance and not mushy - maybe the equivalent of al dente for pasta. I had no trouble with the sauce separating. I suspect longer in the oven might have made the sauce a bit thicker, but I don't think that's necessary. The sauce is to add flavor and in my opinion a thicker sauce would overpower the subtle taste of the pear. The sour cream is an excellent counterpoint to the sweetness of the pear and sauce. The salt from the pistachios is also a nice added element. I can certainly see where adding a liqueur or vanilla would be a nice addition for some people's tastes. I'm looking forward to serving this to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was a delicious and easy way to use a pear surplus. I didn't peel the pears, and it's not necessary, although I suppose some people might prefer them peeled. If you use very ripe pears, they won't need as much caramel as this recipe makes because they'll already be super sweet. Less ripe pears will be firmer after baking. Some reviewers said they shortened the baking time because their pears were already so ripe, but when I tried this, the caramel didn't get thick enough. I tried eating the pears with vanilla ice cream, but I liked it better with sour cream and nuts (I used almonds) as suggested by the recipe. It's rare that I like a recipe best as written, but this is one of those times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this for my husband on Valentine's Day (3 weeks ago) and he's still bringing it up when he talks to people. It was super simple and the taste was amazing. I used both a Bartlett and a Bosc pair, and we both agreed the Bosc was better. I pealed them and used only 3/4 cup sugar. I was told if I just so happened to ever want to make that again...that would be ok! ;) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMBreen95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I really WANTED to like this recipe. So many stars and great reviews ... but it just tasted like sugar and pears. Nothing special. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I cut the recipe in half so we could taste it before making for Thanksgiving. Should have made the whole recipe, we were all looking for more! I used Bosc pears, and topped with some crushed walnuts. Will double this for our dinner. It is definitely a keeper here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
My husband and I went to Lancaster for Easter. At the bed and breakfast we stayed in, our hosts made roasted pears for breakfast which my husband loved. We tried this recipe with a few minor alterations. We used light brown sugar, drizzled the pears with lemon juice, added 1 1/4 tspn of vanilla and peeled, cored and halved the pears. We roasted them at 350 degrees and cut the bake time down 10 minutes. The last 10 minutes we added chopped almonds and basted the pears and almonds with the caramel syrup. It was wonderful! I ate mine as is, but my DH ate his with Cherry Vanilla Ice Cream. I will use a little less sugar next time but this is a keeper. I feel its a 5 start review, since I changed the recipe, I can not give it anything less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Lafayette, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Sugar and butter could easily be cut by half. Anjous turned out too soft after baking 40 minutes. The pears can be served the next day slightly chilled. Bartletts firmed up overnight and had some definite pear flavor. The coagulated butter can be removed before reheating the sauce; a shot of vanilla/brandy/sherry would have provided a counterpoint to the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I thought this was a wonderful recipe! I added 2 tsp of vanilla, used light brown sugar (that's all I had), squeezed lemon juice over the pears, and when I turned them over I sprinkled them with cinnamon. Served with cool whip and toasted pecans. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States