Roasted Pears with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I thought the sour cream would be too tart with this dessert, but it actually added a wonderful creaminess. I would definately recommend it for cool summer or fall nights when you feel like putting the bit of extra effort forth for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Perfect autumn recipe. Easy, easy - and delicious. It took a 9X13 pan to fit the pears - I used 8 TBL. butter and a bit more sugar. I chopped up a bit of crystallized ginger and fresh grated nutmeg (idea from "30 minute meals" on the food network - they had used canned pears for their recipe). Because my fruit was very ripe (I used bartlett pears) I reduced the first cooking time by 10 minutes. Even then the fruit was just beginning to fall apart. I served the pears with vanilla ice cream instead of sour cream. The only minor complaint was eating the skin of the pear - they didn't like the texture. I will make this dessert again for my family and for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I can't rave enough about how simple and elegant this dessert is. Fantastic! As others suggested, turn down the temperature to 375 or the caramel will start to burn. I also used the melon baller to scoop out the pits and look more professional. The sour cream was elegant, and I don't even like sour cream! Try it! I will make this again with a tiny hint of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
What a delicious, easy, elegant dessert. I sprikled chopped pecans into the carmel sauce after it came out of the oven. I left the peel on the pears and actually it was the best part. Recipe is perfect as is or you could experiment with some cinnamon or ginger to kick it up if desired. Will use this for company... excellent comfort food and lower calorie than chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joannekennedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Wow! A fancy dessert in no time flat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melly Gee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Very delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
So delicious and easy! I peeled the pears. Also, I reduced the sugar to 3/4 C. I used whipped cream instead of sour cream. Because my pears were a little soft to begin with, I reduced the first bake to around 15 minutes. And I topped with chopped pecans. I'll definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Excellent. Tastes like ten times the work that it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Simple and tasty. Although you dont really need a recipe for this, just play around with the ingrediants, add some cinnamon to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Super easy and very tastey! I used whip cream instead of sour cream and also served with a side of coffee ice cream. Delish, the caramel hardened over the ice cream and was a cold and warm treat all in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States