Roasted Pears with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Yummy dessert! I used the Bartlett pears and they browned up beautifully, but also were a little bit too soft! I took the pears out of the oven about 10 minutes early, and finished it off with vanilla ice cream...and my husband was in heaven! Great, easy, easy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
The dessert for non dessert eaters! Just the right amount of sweet to end a meal. I used toasted sliced almonds to garnish. Make sure the pan fits the amount of pears you use, mine was too big so the sauce was too thick and hard in places, but the sauce that was liquid was darn yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
YUM! I used Bosc pears after reading the submitter's description (which I really appreciated - thanks!). I think some of the juicier pears may make the caramel sauce thinner, but you can also always reduce it once your pears are done baking if it's too thin for you. I left my pears whole and cored them from the bottom, then set them on the sour cream and dirzzled with the caramel sauce and added toasted walnut halves. Lovely and yummy. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is a really good recipe, but you have to understand that it's very sweet. I reduced the sugar to half a cup and I still found that it hurt the back of my jaw from sweetness. Having said that, the sour cream does add the much needed acidity to cut the sweetness so I am giving it a 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
5 star raves from everyone I have served this to. I have modified the recipe to add 1/2 cup of coconut rum dripped over the brown sugar and increased the pecans to 1 cup to fill in all the spaces in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I used a plain Greek yogurt as it is much thicker than regular yogurt in place of the sour cream. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The sour cream is really nice on this! I would also try yogurt as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Perfect~ My friends mother from Spain made these while visiting and I couldn't wait to try these at home. They were delicious. I thickened the sauce a bit after baking to make it a little more "caramel" like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I just made this tonight for myself and my 4 children we all loved it and will be making it again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was great, and so easy. I omitted the nuts. When it came out of the oven, I removed the pears into bowls to serve, then mixed the sour cream in to the pan sauce to thicken the caramel, and poured it on top of the pears. It is the best caramel sauce I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States