Roasted Pears with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Delicious! The sour cream added just the right touch. When I make it again, I'll probably cut back on the butter and sugar, as I had quite a bit of left over caramel sauce that was wasted this time around. Probably 1/2 to 3/4 of the amounts would suffice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good. I peeled the pears before baking because I didn't want to have to eat the tough skins on my pears. The recipe is quite simple and could be used with apples or pears or a combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I ended up coring the pear with an apple corer. Then just layered the pieces all over the pan. We served over homemade vanilla ice cream instead of sour cream. I will definitely make this again. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Wow! Delicious and easy to make. We like them with a bit of vanilla ice cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I have made this several times. The first time, I made it as directed and it came out perfectly. In other times, I followed others suggestions on ways to reduce fat and calories and the sauce would break and separate. This weekend, I used the full amount of sugar and butter. I actually pressed the sugar into the butter until no butter was visible and them I place the pears on top. The sauce came together beautifully and the pears were perfectly cooked. I shake my head at reviews that call the sauce too thin. Given that it is only butter and sugar, it SHOULD be thin! If you want a thicker caramel, you will have to add milk, cream, or evaporated milk and it would be a different recipe. I love pistachios with this but usually use ice cream instead of sour cream. It's a lovely dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as written. The caramel sauce is way too sweet, even with the sour cream. The sauce probably needs less brown sugar and maybe some vanilla. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves to Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Yum! I used almonds, and substituted ricotta for sour cream, but I think either works fine. Threw in a handful of dried cranberries just to use them up and it was a nice combination. My sauce was a little runny and separated, so I'll adjust for that next time. Great taste all-in-all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Basically, a baked pear...could have used some more spices, and the caramel sauce was not really caramel. I recommmend melting caramel squares to get a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKWildflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
we pealed the skin when we halved and cored the pears. It was a tremendous hit! Not only was it easy to make, it made for a very elegant presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Washington Grove, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My dinner guests enjoyed this but next time I'll cut on the dark brown sugar because I found that the dark sugar brought out too much of a molasses-like-flavor and not the carmel flavor I was hoping for. Overall, nice recipe that I'll probably make again with a few changes. UPDATE: I used light brown sugar this time and topped it with pistachio ice cream...WOW that was five stars. Really good. I've also tried this with peaches. Delicious! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States