Roasted Parsnips with Mint and Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
YUM! So happy to try this - I had parsnips from another recipe AND my herb garden is getting out of control with mint and sage. Initially, I was hesitant about the mint, but it really blends in nicely with the other ingredients...certainly doesn't POP like you might expect it would. The honey helped with the sweetness of the veggies (I added carrots because i had them peeled and cut already... glad I did for an extra burst of color!) Everything about this was perfect, in my opinion. Other than adding more veggies for more color/nutrition/variety, I wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a delicious vegetable dish. Like other reviewers, I used carrots and parsnips (4 of each - and there was plenty of the mixture to coat the vegetables). The only change I made was to use fresh oregano for the sage, as I didn't have any sage. A definite make-again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
While I liked this dish (I love parsnip) I was shocked at the compliments it received during dinner. The sage overpowers the mint, I feel. I also didn't measure the honey - just added a squirt or so, definitely not a full tablespoon. Four parsnip is a very small portion for four people - I used six parsnip and three carrots for six. I'd definitely make this sometime again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is my new favorite way to make parsnips! I ran out of mint, so I doubled the sage, and it was delicious. These came out almost like sweet (but not too sweet) french fries. I'll be making this often throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was excellent! I loved having a new idea for a vegetable side dish as my usual fare gets old after a while. I added 4 carrots to this and cut them in the same julienne shape. They really did seem like veggie "fries" and were so tasty. The mint and sage were brilliant additions. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Excellent flavor! Don't skimp out on the honey--- completely worth it! My only advice is to check it after 20 minutes at 450. Because at 30 minutes at 450, mine burned and turned half black. So in the future I would lessen the cooking time OR lower the temperature, whichever makes a better fry. Thanks for a great recipe! And who knew that mint and sage are such flavor enhancers when used together!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
It was good, just not as good as I anticipated. I didn't like the sage and mint, should of left those out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Yum! I also added carrots and golden beets to this dish. I did not have any mint on hand either, but it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Yummy and I didn't even put the fresh mint and fresh sage - used a little dried sage though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
big hit! Stirred around after 10 min on baking tray and took out after 20 min. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Passarotti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walden, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States