Roasted Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
These are delicious, I will never fry onions again! I cut the large white onions into quarters, placed on one cut side then flipped over half way thru since I had two sides cut. Yummy. My hubby and I devoured them along with cold Chinese pork and Hasselback taters. Can't wait to make for guests. (I skipped balsamic vinegar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mhy
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
So easy & so delicious! Based on previous reviews, I tried cutting it 2 different ways: first in half then I cut the 2nd half in thirds. Both had nice presentation and taste. I baked it with salmon on the same baking sheet, so I had to lower the temp to 200C (instead of 220C) for a longer time. I also peeled the onion before baking, so that I could eat it right away. Next time I'll try the option balsamic vinegar. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Super awesome. I checked the level of "doneness" by touching them. They needed about 8 mor minutes than the recipe called for. Be sure to test them before taking them out. They want be very good if they're not cooked enough. The bottom sides caramelized beautifully. I even forgot the balsamic and everyone loved them. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Beautiful addition to the plate. Easy and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
These were actually really good. I made them for dinner but had a bunch left over that the kids just snacked on. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I love roasted onions. I just peel, quarter and throw them and lots of peeled garlic (yum!) in a roasting pan coated with olive oil spray for 20 minutes, spread out a bit, add some frozen spinach, brussels sprouts and cook for another 15 minutes. um um um ... goooood! I weigh it out in 6 oz portions and I can eat this with my meals for 4 or 5 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Nice Basic Recipe. Want to experiment yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grays, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Moseley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
YOU HAVE TO PEEL THESE! The skin is borderline inedible. Basically, you chop the onion in half, chop off the tip, drizzle with EVOO and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cut a slit in the top and wedge in a 1/4-1/2 clove (piece) of garlic. Roast like 25-30 mins, and they're GREAT! Kind of bland, in the sense you'd want to serve them with steak or mushrooms or something in addition to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Nice for a change. Quick and easy preparation and cleanup. But I probably wouldn't do too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I used this recipe to make the roasted onion for a creole succotash. The onion turned out great. I did what several other reviewers did...peel the onion before roasting and cut it into more than just two pieces (8). Will be adding this to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States