Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Roasted for 15 mins. Added halved cherry tomatoes after 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Great recipe, but I made an operator error. Very large Okra pods have a tendency to be "woody" and do not cook properly with this method. The smaller pods were perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Being a fried okra lover, I was at first hesitant to "waste" good okra by roasting it this way. However, since this recipe is almost identical to a recipe I love using quartered brussel sprouts, I tried it. Now, it may be a offensive to my southern roots, but I think I it's much better than fried. My only suggestion is don't pay so much attention to the length of time they cook. Just keep roasting them until they are browned and turning crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
tastes better than fried to me....and imagine how much better it is for you. I did sprinkle a little Parmesan on top and also left it in 20-25 minutes because I like mine a little crispy. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpeapatti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
DELICIOUS! My husband loved this. I did them on the grill and added chopped onion and fresh, halved grape tomatoes...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
With fresh okra...this is absolutely awesome. Awe sprinkled on a bit of Parmesan cheese....oh my goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this, but added a little bit of spice. I am Indian and grew up with okra as a staple (fried, and made into a type of curry). I prepared with olive oild, salt, and used a bit of ground cumin, paprika, and red pepper powder (sold at Indian stores) and this came out awesome. Great alternative to frying. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Awesome! Thank you so much. I've lived in Oklahoma my whole life and have never had roasted okra. This was so easy and tasty and left us dissapointed when it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
For us this recipe was good, but not excellent. We followed the recipe and the okra came out a little bland. We'll try it again probably, but add a little bit more seasoning to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I was in a hurry and dumped in the recommended 2 teaspoons Kosher salt.....WAY TOO MUCH! Next time I'll just sprinkle the salt and pepper. Otherwise, very good method (rather than frying).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States