Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Really good! I wouldn't have thought to cook okra this way and it turned out really yummy. I added a bit of diced onion before roasting. Used frozen okra and it was fine. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Does that fact the picture does not match the recipe bother any one else but me! That has to be my number one complaint about this entire site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Has anyone tried using thawed, frozen okra? I live in Ireland, only Asian and Middle Eastern stores carry fresh okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I rarely see fresh okra where I live. So when I saw some fresh okra at a real good price on a trip, I bought some just to try this recipe cause I really like okra(at least the ones I tried). After coming back home though, I totally forgot about them and when I remembered, they were going bad already. Feeling kinda lazy, I was tempted to just throw them away but I forced myself to give this recipe a shot since it was really easy. I am SO glad I did. It was really easy and only took a couple of minutes to prepare. I cooked about 30 mins at 425 and they were just so good. Since I was cooking bbq chicken for dinner, I was just going to taste a couple but I couldn't stop once I started eating. I was worried about sliminess but it wasn't so bad. Or maybe I just don't mind that so much.I guess it never really bothered me before either which is kinda funny cause I'm usually really picky about stuff like that. Now I'm really wondering if I should plant okra this year. ^^ I should try with frozen ones and see if they come out as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I can't believe how easy it is to make yummy okra! Its not slimy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Great option for fried okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Would be great but entirely too salty. Even doubled okra and kept original 2 tsp of salt. Will cut to 1/2 tsp next time. Know this can be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Fantastic. Tastes remarkably like French fries! I'm an okra hater from way back, so this was a revelation. Make sure to cut both ends off the okra and dry thoroughly after rinsing. I also made a few minor changes to ensure there was no slime: I wiped the foil pan lining with oil as if greasing a cake pan, drizzled the okra with oil, tossed them around to make sure all were coated, sprinkled them with Adobo seasoning, garlic powder and pepper. I placed them on the center rack of the oven and roasted them for 35 minutes rather than the 10 - 15 in the recipe. They get brown and crispy but still soft on the inside and NO SLIME. Be advised, though- they shrink in size by half, so make sure you cook enough. My kids love them cooked this way and ask for them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious way to eat okra. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zak & Helly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States