Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was really good! My husband and I both liked the fact that the okra was not slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is a simple, quick, and delicious side dish for any dinner. The roasting gives it a nice texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
this was very good; did have to use frozen okra though. added a little garlic/onion powders. will make again. thanks for the post ncope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this recipe a couple times in an attempt to introduce fruits & veggies that our household does not typically eat. I have found a few must haves by doing this but sadly, this will not be one of those foods/recipes for us. I read reviews about fresh okra being slimy so I followed some reviewers suggestions to minimize the slime. I'm not sure it worked. I found the longer I baked them & turned them, the less slimy the okra was. In the end I enjoyed the flavor "in small doses" but not sure I'll go thru the work of making again. I did introduce this to friends & their kids who were reluctant to try it. Ultimately they gave it a try & they too, were not crazy about it. (I was careful to not let them see the slime as I knew they would never try it). One did say it tasted just like fried okra, even though I baked it and did not bread it like you find in stores. ...To each his own. It was worth trying anyway! I suppose if you grew up eating okra & loving it this will be a fantastic recipe. It's just not for our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My first try of okra. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This turned out very good. Even my husband enjoyed it, and he didn't THINK he liked Okra. I added a tad too much salt, but there was no slimyness or anything. Would make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Bill really liked this. I soaked the cut okra in a lemon water bath for about 30 minutes. They were still slimey going into the oven, but not slimey when they came out. Really Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I love Okra. This was easy & delicious. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoyita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I love okra, but my husband doesn't. He hated it, I loved it! My 4 year old loved it too, but she also likes okra. I think you really need to like okra to eat okra. It was still a little slimy, but not like it usually is when I cook it. I'm glad I tired it this way, I certainly will eat it like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Turned out perfect! not slimy at all.. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States