Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I roast fresh asparagus using these same ingredients all the time, but never thought of roasting okra. Tried it and it was great, not mention easy, low slime :) and easy clean-up! I did add some sliced vidalia onions, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes to the mix which made it better IMO. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Very yummy and easy. I doubled the cook time and thought it came out great. Not slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was really good! My husband and I both liked the fact that the okra was not slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is a simple, quick, and delicious side dish for any dinner. The roasting gives it a nice texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
this was very good; did have to use frozen okra though. added a little garlic/onion powders. will make again. thanks for the post ncope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made this recipe a couple times in an attempt to introduce fruits & veggies that our household does not typically eat. I have found a few must haves by doing this but sadly, this will not be one of those foods/recipes for us. I read reviews about fresh okra being slimy so I followed some reviewers suggestions to minimize the slime. I'm not sure it worked. I found the longer I baked them & turned them, the less slimy the okra was. In the end I enjoyed the flavor "in small doses" but not sure I'll go thru the work of making again. I did introduce this to friends & their kids who were reluctant to try it. Ultimately they gave it a try & they too, were not crazy about it. (I was careful to not let them see the slime as I knew they would never try it). One did say it tasted just like fried okra, even though I baked it and did not bread it like you find in stores. ...To each his own. It was worth trying anyway! I suppose if you grew up eating okra & loving it this will be a fantastic recipe. It's just not for our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My first try of okra. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This turned out very good. Even my husband enjoyed it, and he didn't THINK he liked Okra. I added a tad too much salt, but there was no slimyness or anything. Would make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Bill really liked this. I soaked the cut okra in a lemon water bath for about 30 minutes. They were still slimey going into the oven, but not slimey when they came out. Really Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I love Okra. This was easy & delicious. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoyita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States