Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Best Okra I have ever eaten. I baked 10 minutes: dry, trimmed okra, dribbled with lime juice and added light Pam on the baking sheet. 400 degrees for 10 minutes or so. Broiled 10 minutes till fork tender then finished in a hot, dry skillet for another 10 minutes. Got nice brown grill marks in the pan, threw on a plate with Himalayan pink salt and it was THE BEST Okra I have ever eaten. zero slime, tender and flavorful. My husband is going back to the same farmers stand tomrrow and getting more okra. Another cook suggested the lime juice and no salt till done. Also, okra should be completely DRY. Wash it one day and eat it the next day, or if you trust the farmer, as I do, don't even wash it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
So simple, so good. Don't tie yourself to the amounts in the recipe, though. The size of okra pods can vary. We pick ours young, so I used probably 40 pods or so (13 oz prior to removing the stems), and 3/4 tsp of salt was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Best okra we've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Using okra not more than a little bigger than your pinky finger is usual size - at least in the South. Apparently, this recipe goes for bigger, which is fine; but remember to use less spices if yours are little. I prefer measurement. I had almost four cups cut okra so doubled the spice amounts. Too much by far. Yeah, I ate it; but I'll use try four cups with two teaspoons each next time. 'Could try it halfway done to add more. I roasted mine for more than a half hour & it was good. Definately fried tasting. 'Nice getting away from the usual boiled. Hate those slimy pots! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Very easy recipe! I use butter instead of oil for an extra rich flavor. I melt the butter in a saucepan and add 1 tsp salt and some Indian spices (or any seasoning/spice I feel like). Then I pour the butter mixture over the okra and mix it all together and pour onto baking dish and bake as directed. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEESELF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Great, easy recipe! Used another reviewer's suggestion and replaced salt and pepper with seasoning salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Cannot stop eating this - addictive, just like potato chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Roasting okra, who would have guessed?! I used a LOT less salt and pepper than called for - about 1/2-3/4 tsp each for 30 okra pods - and I used hickory smoked sea salt instead of plain salt. The hickory smoke flavor was beautiful with the okra. Thanks for sharing this technique! I'll be using it again and again while okra is in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJFoodies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Delicious! I ate the whole batch by myself and wished I had more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States