Roasted Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I was in a hurry and dumped in the recommended 2 teaspoons Kosher salt.....WAY TOO MUCH! Next time I'll just sprinkle the salt and pepper. Otherwise, very good method (rather than frying).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Being a good southern girl, I have always had my okra fried. I tried this tonight in my quest for a healthier alternative. It was a huge hit with the kids, fighting over the last few pods. I didn't slice them, just cut off the tops. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
It had never occurred to me to roast okra this way, but I really did prefer this to fried okra. My husband usually doesn't like okra and he loved this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
We planted okra for the first time this year. We had a LOT if it so I tried to find other ways to fix it. We loved this recipe. I would rather have it roasted than any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was amazing!! I put fresh grape tomatoes on the baking sheet, also. Yum! My new favorite way to eat okra and so healthy! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Very simple, tasty, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Best Okra I have ever eaten. I baked 10 minutes: dry, trimmed okra, dribbled with lime juice and added light Pam on the baking sheet. 400 degrees for 10 minutes or so. Broiled 10 minutes till fork tender then finished in a hot, dry skillet for another 10 minutes. Got nice brown grill marks in the pan, threw on a plate with Himalayan pink salt and it was THE BEST Okra I have ever eaten. zero slime, tender and flavorful. My husband is going back to the same farmers stand tomrrow and getting more okra. Another cook suggested the lime juice and no salt till done. Also, okra should be completely DRY. Wash it one day and eat it the next day, or if you trust the farmer, as I do, don't even wash it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
So simple, so good. Don't tie yourself to the amounts in the recipe, though. The size of okra pods can vary. We pick ours young, so I used probably 40 pods or so (13 oz prior to removing the stems), and 3/4 tsp of salt was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Best okra we've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States