Roasted New Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was not bad, but not the best roasted potato recipe. I may increase the amt. of the rosemary and thyme next time. Two crucial steps left out of the instructions: 1. Even with the oil, spray a thin coat of Pam on your baking sheet to help prevent sticking. 2. You MUST periodically flip these over while cooking. They brown very fast and you want to ensure crispiness all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
These were very good!! The only change I made was that I omitted the thyme, so I just used olive oil, rosemary, garlic, salt, and cayenne pepper. I tossed them every 10 mins or so to make sure they didn't burn, then when they were done I broiled them for about 2 mins to make the edges crispy. Turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brayden's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
These potatoes were delicious! My whole family loved them, including my daughter, age 4, and son, age 2. Even after we were all stuffed, my husband gobbled the last few up. My daughter said, "Um, can we have these every night?" I never imagined that the kids would have more of the side dish then the main course! Oh, I did shake the pan after every ten minutes, so they browned evenly and didn't burn. I only used one big clove of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Excellent recipe! So simple and so good. I will be making these again for sure. I used garlic powder in place of cloves and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This is a really great side dish. I doubled the amount of thyme, rosemary, and salt. Also used garlic powder instead of minced because I was in a hurry. Once on the pan, I sprinkled some paprika on top for color. MAKE SURE you turn these every 5-10 minutes when cooking or the bottoms will be charcoal! With the changes, this a 5 star recipe. *Update* I made this again and threw in an extra large onion, sliced thick. They caramelized in the oven and it was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made these as written but used fresh rosemary and thyme and turned them occasionally for even browning. Be careful with the cooking time - mine didn't even need 35 minutes, and you sure don't want to end up with overcooked, shriveled potatoes! Hubs said these were the best roasted potatoes I ever made - must have been the (fresh)rosemary/thyme combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Great flavor, easy to make. After I pulled from the oven I tossed with some salt and grated Parmesan. Just watch out for those burn pieces of garlic!!! It was perfect. Will add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Hubby pronounced these delish! I think I used more oil & cooked them in my round pampered chef stone. Didn't have the problem others did with sticking. Used my own Italian Seasoning Blend since we have to eat salt free. Thanks for the recipe it will be used often in the scotdog house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
A few things were off with this recipe and now I regret not having read busymommy's review. It was right on. My potatoes stuck to the pan. I went to check on them and noticed it. I tried to drizzle some more olive oil to the potatoes but by then it was too late. The taste was saved because I added 1/2 tsp. of Greek seasoning too. Otherwise I believe it would have turned out too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
A great basic potato recipe that is a little more exciting than just baked potatoes but won't interfere with the flavors of whatever else you are having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States