Roasted New Potato Salad With Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This is a great recipe. I recommend cutting the potatoes into 4ths as it makes for smaller bites when eating. The flavors are great. The red onion, Kalamata's and the vinegar work really good together. I give this 6 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
My husband and I both really liked this. It was a lot more elegant than regular potato salad. I used red wine vinegar instead of the rice or malt vinegar. Next time I might add a bit more for punch. I left out the 3 TBS of olive oil at the end. There was no need for it - it would have only made the whole thing greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is a great version of my old roasted potato salad recipe. This one calls for mayo (I substituted fat free ranch) and that helped the garlic stick to the potatos. I also added a little pickle juice to the vinegar and tripled the garlic. Any way you do it, this is far better and much more versitle than the mashed potato salad recipes. It goes well warm or cold and makes a great topping for green salad as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This recipe is fabulous. It's unlike anything on the pot luck table and everyone who tried it RAVED about it. This is going to be one of my standards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
A very tasty potato salad. Baking the potatoes retains the nice red skin color in addition to retaining flavor. I refrigerated them overnite which facilited slicing them into perfect slices that do not fall apart. I used white balsamic vinegar and only 1/2 teaspoon of thyme which is the max I could use unless you love thyme. A nice twist on regular mayonaisey potato salad. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
My husband and I both thought this was excellent. I eyeballed the herbs and ommitted onions, but didnt think it detracted anything. I will definitely make this a lot and it would be an excellent potluck dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I have made this recipe a few times now and love it, but decided to add a review after taking it to a BBQ yesterday. My bowl was completely gone while the regular mayo potato salad just sat there!! So many compliments on it! I have only made it with capers and feel that it is perfect with a bit of the caper juice added. Definately serve it at room temperature, it loses something otherwise. YUMMMM-Y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I also omitted the oil in the dressing. I didn't have olive when I tried this recipe. I have made it twice. The second time I cut some bacon into small pieces and roasted with potatoes. I also added 1 teaspoon English Mustard into the dressing and sliced 5 radishes mixed into the salad. The crispy bacon, the pungent flavor of mustard and radish made this potato salad even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
It was a good change from traditional potato salad, and I like the idea of roasting the potatos. However, the kalamata olives were too strong in proportion to the dish, and so it wasn't a knock your socks off experience for my guests. I would probably make again, but reduce kalamata olives and include some other ingredients like chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Excellent! I add a small spoon dijon mustard at end. Also, add more olive oil at the roasting stage and exclude the olive oil at the end. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States