Roasted Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Very, very nice. I made the recipe as written with no changes whatsoever. I would definitely rate this as "above restaurant quality". Roasting the mushrooms provided a distinct and unique flavor that was unexpected. Light-textured enough for a summertime soup also. I did double the recipe as suggested, it froze and re-heated like a dream! Thank you so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Not the best mushroom soup there is but I've had worse. Would have given it 3 stars but since i had to use milk instead of heavy cream, I gave it 4 stars. Taste wise, the rosemary and thyme were spot on with the mushrooms, but I used 1 large onion and it was way too much. Roasting the mushrooms for 15 minutes was not enough to bring out the flavor and added additional fat unnecessarily (with the EVOO). If I try again, I would roast the onions with the mushrooms and roast for at least 30 minutes at 350.For mushroom lovers, definitely worth a try because it may fit your family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The rosemary and garlic roasted mushrooms gave aromatic flavor, the thyme simmered with the onions and garlic, and it all blended amazingly into a fragrant, creamy soup. I cut the oil and butter amounts in half, for less fat, and also had to use rice milk for both the cream and milk, due to lactose intolerance. I added a couple of T. of coffee creamer to add richness. Would probably have to give it six stars with real cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Mushroom soups are fairly standard concoctions; usually some variation of mushrooms, cream, chicken broth and maybe herbs or spices. Most are good. This one is excellent. First, roasting the mushrooms rather than sautéing them not only simplifies the preparation, it also lends a deeper, bolder mushroom flavor. The wee bit of rosemary and thyme is subtle yet makes its presence known, and gives the soup definition and character beyond just the one dimensional taste of the mushrooms. Outside of adding another four ounces or so of mushrooms only because I had them to use, I stuck to the recipe as directed and was quite happy with it. While it may not be a chunky, hearty soup it is deceptively just as substantial and filling. Nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
It tastes good, but I thought it was missing some creaminess and texture, so I added chunks of potato and used hand blender to crush some of it, left some chunks though... since soup was almost ready I had to boil the potato separate in order to fix the soup. So Next time I will add the potato with the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This was great mushroom soup. It was even better the second day after the flavors had time to work together. I used 3/4 cup skim milk and 1/4cup of cream so probably not as rich but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amysaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe was great and worked wonderfully. For once I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception--I followed another reviewer's suggestion and roasted the onions along with the mushrooms. I'm going to triple the recipe this weekend, but this time I'm going to add chopped bacon and maybe some spinach. Either way, it was a lovely, lovely soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Instead of minced raw garlic, I added a whole head of roasted garlic in the blender near the end. I also found that I liked the soup smoother, so I ended up whizzing it in the food processor when I reheated it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Excellent Mushroom Soup. I had been talking about making this for 3 days and my daughter didn't want me to (she's 22 and mushrooms are ok to her). I did it anyway and she is giving it a 5, it was so funny how much she loved it. I stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Roasting the mushrooms is a perfect way to elevate the flavor of this soup! I enjoyed eating this for lunch this past week, never tired of it. :) There is a lot of great mushroom flavor--with a nice subtle hint of rosemary. **I do think using a homemade (or at least a good quality) chicken stock is best and really makes a noticeable difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States