Roasted Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I liked this recipe a lot since I can eat sauteed mushrooms by themselves. It was delicious! I did make a few changes though. I think the amount of onion mentioned was a little much so I used half of a medium onion. Instead of chicken broth, I used beef broth and instead of rosemary I used parsley. I also used garlic powder as a substitute for the garlic cloves since that was all I had on hand. But I would have definitely used the cloves instead if I had them. When the recipe called to process the mushrooms and onions together, I skipped this part. I like my soup a little chunky so I just roughly chopped the mushrooms after roasting. The end result had a wonderful flavor. I did change up the time on the roasting of the mushrooms though. Instead of roasting them for 15 minutes, I might would go for 12. It might be just me but the mushrooms ended up being a little too done. This is in my own opinion however. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I thought it was a different approach to the traditional mushroom soup and like always added my own personal touch, and was better than my expectations! Tasty to say the least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Mushrooms always disappear around me way too quickly, so I made a triple batch of this. :) I used a combination of shitake, white button, and portobello mushrooms, and replaced one of the onions with a large leek. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and was really looking forward to it, but it tasted primarily like onions. I've since checked other recipes and I am not sure why this one calls for two onions with so few mushrooms -- most other recipes call for almost 2 pounds of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole0227
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I have a favorite restaurant that makes a great mushroom soup, since my relocation I have been craving and this recipe nailed it! So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I used three cartons of button mushrooms (on sale; couldn't resist), which was a bit more than doubling it. I roasted the shrooms 20 minutes with some fresh rosemary sneaked from my neighbor's bush, plus some fancy lemon-flavored olive oil. Skipped the heavy cream and used fat-free evap milk. Sparingly used my immersion blender in the pot instead, cause I'm my father's daughter and like chunky soup. Then forgot and got caught up in a great old movie and came back an hour later to find the soup cooked down halfway but thank goodness not burned. Threw in a little more broth and a few spinach leaves that needed to be used. AMAZING!!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I have used Allrecipes for six years and used many, many recipes and have enjoyed most of them. This is the first recipe that I've commented on, and it is incredible as it is written. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used wild mushrooms I picked in the forest and this soup is so very good! Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Yummy! I skipped the cream/milk. Added more broth and thickened it with a roux at the end. Also added some tumeric for pretty golden color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Roasting the mushrooms is a perfect way to elevate the flavor of this soup! I enjoyed eating this for lunch this past week, never tired of it. :) There is a lot of great mushroom flavor--with a nice subtle hint of rosemary. **I do think using a homemade (or at least a good quality) chicken stock is best and really makes a noticeable difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States