Roasted Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The rosemary and garlic roasted mushrooms gave aromatic flavor, the thyme simmered with the onions and garlic, and it all blended amazingly into a fragrant, creamy soup. I cut the oil and butter amounts in half, for less fat, and also had to use rice milk for both the cream and milk, due to lactose intolerance. I added a couple of T. of coffee creamer to add richness. Would probably have to give it six stars with real cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used wild mushrooms I picked in the forest and this soup is so very good! Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Roasting the mushrooms is a perfect way to elevate the flavor of this soup! I enjoyed eating this for lunch this past week, never tired of it. :) There is a lot of great mushroom flavor--with a nice subtle hint of rosemary. **I do think using a homemade (or at least a good quality) chicken stock is best and really makes a noticeable difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Yummy! I skipped the cream/milk. Added more broth and thickened it with a roux at the end. Also added some tumeric for pretty golden color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I used three cartons of button mushrooms (on sale; couldn't resist), which was a bit more than doubling it. I roasted the shrooms 20 minutes with some fresh rosemary sneaked from my neighbor's bush, plus some fancy lemon-flavored olive oil. Skipped the heavy cream and used fat-free evap milk. Sparingly used my immersion blender in the pot instead, cause I'm my father's daughter and like chunky soup. Then forgot and got caught up in a great old movie and came back an hour later to find the soup cooked down halfway but thank goodness not burned. Threw in a little more broth and a few spinach leaves that needed to be used. AMAZING!!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Mushroom soups are fairly standard concoctions; usually some variation of mushrooms, cream, chicken broth and maybe herbs or spices. Most are good. This one is excellent. First, roasting the mushrooms rather than sautéing them not only simplifies the preparation, it also lends a deeper, bolder mushroom flavor. The wee bit of rosemary and thyme is subtle yet makes its presence known, and gives the soup definition and character beyond just the one dimensional taste of the mushrooms. Outside of adding another four ounces or so of mushrooms only because I had them to use, I stuck to the recipe as directed and was quite happy with it. While it may not be a chunky, hearty soup it is deceptively just as substantial and filling. Nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I have used Allrecipes for six years and used many, many recipes and have enjoyed most of them. This is the first recipe that I've commented on, and it is incredible as it is written. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Very, very nice. I made the recipe as written with no changes whatsoever. I would definitely rate this as "above restaurant quality". Roasting the mushrooms provided a distinct and unique flavor that was unexpected. Light-textured enough for a summertime soup also. I did double the recipe as suggested, it froze and re-heated like a dream! Thank you so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe was great and worked wonderfully. For once I followed the recipe exactly, with one exception--I followed another reviewer's suggestion and roasted the onions along with the mushrooms. I'm going to triple the recipe this weekend, but this time I'm going to add chopped bacon and maybe some spinach. Either way, it was a lovely, lovely soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Excellent Mushroom Soup. I had been talking about making this for 3 days and my daughter didn't want me to (she's 22 and mushrooms are ok to her). I did it anyway and she is giving it a 5, it was so funny how much she loved it. I stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States