Roasted Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Mushroom soups are fairly standard concoctions; usually some variation of mushrooms, cream, chicken broth and maybe herbs or spices. Most are good. This one is excellent. First, roasting the mushrooms rather than sautéing them not only simplifies the preparation, it also lends a deeper, bolder mushroom flavor. The wee bit of rosemary and thyme is subtle yet makes its presence known, and gives the soup definition and character beyond just the one dimensional taste of the mushrooms. Outside of adding another four ounces or so of mushrooms only because I had them to use, I stuck to the recipe as directed and was quite happy with it. While it may not be a chunky, hearty soup it is deceptively just as substantial and filling. Nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Very, very nice. I made the recipe as written with no changes whatsoever. I would definitely rate this as "above restaurant quality". Roasting the mushrooms provided a distinct and unique flavor that was unexpected. Light-textured enough for a summertime soup also. I did double the recipe as suggested, it froze and re-heated like a dream! Thank you so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Not the best mushroom soup there is but I've had worse. Would have given it 3 stars but since i had to use milk instead of heavy cream, I gave it 4 stars. Taste wise, the rosemary and thyme were spot on with the mushrooms, but I used 1 large onion and it was way too much. Roasting the mushrooms for 15 minutes was not enough to bring out the flavor and added additional fat unnecessarily (with the EVOO). If I try again, I would roast the onions with the mushrooms and roast for at least 30 minutes at 350.For mushroom lovers, definitely worth a try because it may fit your family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
It tastes good, but I thought it was missing some creaminess and texture, so I added chunks of potato and used hand blender to crush some of it, left some chunks though... since soup was almost ready I had to boil the potato separate in order to fix the soup. So Next time I will add the potato with the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The rosemary and garlic roasted mushrooms gave aromatic flavor, the thyme simmered with the onions and garlic, and it all blended amazingly into a fragrant, creamy soup. I cut the oil and butter amounts in half, for less fat, and also had to use rice milk for both the cream and milk, due to lactose intolerance. I added a couple of T. of coffee creamer to add richness. Would probably have to give it six stars with real cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Yummy! I skipped the cream/milk. Added more broth and thickened it with a roux at the end. Also added some tumeric for pretty golden color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I liked this recipe a lot since I can eat sauteed mushrooms by themselves. It was delicious! I did make a few changes though. I think the amount of onion mentioned was a little much so I used half of a medium onion. Instead of chicken broth, I used beef broth and instead of rosemary I used parsley. I also used garlic powder as a substitute for the garlic cloves since that was all I had on hand. But I would have definitely used the cloves instead if I had them. When the recipe called to process the mushrooms and onions together, I skipped this part. I like my soup a little chunky so I just roughly chopped the mushrooms after roasting. The end result had a wonderful flavor. I did change up the time on the roasting of the mushrooms though. Instead of roasting them for 15 minutes, I might would go for 12. It might be just me but the mushrooms ended up being a little too done. This is in my own opinion however. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and was really looking forward to it, but it tasted primarily like onions. I've since checked other recipes and I am not sure why this one calls for two onions with so few mushrooms -- most other recipes call for almost 2 pounds of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I used three cartons of button mushrooms (on sale; couldn't resist), which was a bit more than doubling it. I roasted the shrooms 20 minutes with some fresh rosemary sneaked from my neighbor's bush, plus some fancy lemon-flavored olive oil. Skipped the heavy cream and used fat-free evap milk. Sparingly used my immersion blender in the pot instead, cause I'm my father's daughter and like chunky soup. Then forgot and got caught up in a great old movie and came back an hour later to find the soup cooked down halfway but thank goodness not burned. Threw in a little more broth and a few spinach leaves that needed to be used. AMAZING!!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I have used Allrecipes for six years and used many, many recipes and have enjoyed most of them. This is the first recipe that I've commented on, and it is incredible as it is written. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States