Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
My husband liked it more than I did. It was just okay. I really didn't taste any lemon flavor, even after following other review's suggestions: I baked the chicken at 325 for 2 hr 20 min, put the lemon rinds in the chicken, and doubled the herb mixture. Even then, all I could taste was the olive oil, and I didn't double that part. I just don't seem to like meat dishes that use olive oil. It makes it taste greasy. I think this is a good recipe, but I'm definitely considering substituting the olive oil for something else or cutting it out entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
My 14 year old nephew cooked his first family dinner tonight and this is the recipe he chose. We followed the recipe almost exactly, after we doubled the ingredients because we used a very large chicken. Our changes: after reading some reviews we mixed all the spices together in one bowl with French's mustard because I didn't have powdered mustard. We also used all fresh herbs from our garden including the garlic and put the squeezed lemon halves inside the chicken. He was very anxious over how it would turn out but he needn't have worried, IT WAS DELICIOUS!! Moist, flavorful, finger licking good! With white potatoes cut in half added in the last hour and buttered green beans it was a meal to be proud of and we are all very proud of him, almost as proud as he is himself. Really impressed his mom! She could not stop raving over the flavor and how tender it was. Now he's asking to make dinner tomorrow night as well so I came here to find a recipe and decided to write this review for him to encourage his interest. Keep up the good work Dante! It is an honorable pursuit to provide delicious, nutritious meals for your family and you are well on your way. How do you feel about shrimp??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
It's a great recipe, and this BTW was my first time ever making roast chicken. The seasoning was the very best, I doubled the recipe for it and used it all. I was looking for something to work with what I had, and I did make a few changes. I had seen from reviews about the importance of crispy skin so because of that and the fact that I was using thighs instead of a whole chicken, I googled and found a Martha Stewart recipe to combine with this one. 1.) I doubled the herb recipe and placed 1 T of it underneath the skin and rubbed the thighs down, the majority of the rest I rubbed the skins down with, and what was left I put it into the olive oil and lemon juice mix. I then placed them skin side down in the pan. 2.) I used 1/2 cup of olive oil and 1/4 lemon juice (next time I'll add a bit more juice, possibly to the equivalent of 2 lemons), and I poured it over the thighs 3.) Because my electric stove is nuts, I baked them uncovered on 325° for 15 minutes, basted them, then baked for 10 mins more, I flipped them over and basted them a little, then turned the heat up to 350° to try and get a crispy skin, and baked them for 10 mins more. I wasn't happy with the appearance, and I was worried that I didn't cook them long enough so I basted them and put them in for another 10 mins. Very brown crispy skin, and moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Easy & tasty. I just threw all the ingredients in a bag with chicken thighs (decreased olive oil) marinated for a couple of hours & roasted in the oven. This will be my go to chicken marinade from now on. The mix of flavors is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
If you marinate this recipe overnight, it is very good ~ especially if you add a little regular salt :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I found it to be quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
YUMMY! Company good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Great recipe! I can't imagine how anyone thought it was bland. I thought it almost five stars but not quite, so went with four. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Great flavour on the skin, didn't permeate through to the chicken as much as I would have thought. Will be great as a bone broth with what remains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Berube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
My go to marinade for chicken breasts now too....YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States