Roasted Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I'm from Las Cruces, NM and was looking for a good green chile stew recipe. This one was great! Like other suggested, I used Bueno's roasted green chile instead of fresh roasted. I used 3 of the 13 oz tubs. I drained them before I added them Also, I omitted the serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Tasted like I was back eating on the farm in Espanola, NM. I changed a bit and have tried with both ground beef or ground Turkey. Both equaly good. Beef was just as rich as using pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Wow, was this ever good! I used Bueno frozen roasted chilies as someone else suggested and beef broth because I didn't have vegetable broth. Served it with cooked pinto beans and flour tortillas. Absolutely wonderful! Will definitely make again and again. Reminds us of the pork green chili stew from a small Mexican restaurant where we used to live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I'm with you Lola7272! Pueblo chiles are even superior to Hatch chiles. Having relatives in Colorado Springs allows me to make my annual visit to Pueblo, CO and load up with 2-3 bushels of Pueblo green chiles. After returning home, I fire up the grill and spend a day roasting/peeling/seeding/freezing the chiles. They are heavenly right off the roaster! I skip the serrano's and add 2-3 habaneros that have been seeded and minced. I skip the potato and thicken with a roux and add frozen sweet corn. The sweet corn and habaneros work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdca5033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Excellent. Highly recommended. I lived in Santa Fe, NM for 13 years and can attest to the fact that this stuff is the "real McCoy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Excellent flavor! I omitted the pork and added blue-corn posole. I added another 12 oz of broth for the posole to simmer in, but it didn't dilute the flavor at all. I decided to leave out the serranos after tasting it with the chilies--it was plenty hot for us at that point (and we love spicy food). A note on roasting the chilies: These don't peel like roasted bell peppers; because the flesh is thinner, they fall apart and it's difficult to find the edge. I found it works best to work from the inside and scrape the pepper from the peel, rather than trying to pull the peel off the pepper. Also, I'd suggest wearing gloves--my fingers were still burning this morning. I'm usually a snob when it comes to using fresh vs. frozen/canned, but this was so time-consuming and tedious, I'll try the Bueno frozen chilies next time. (And there will definitely be a next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Great recipe. I would use low sodium chicken broth and add cilantro, but you nailed it. Of course New Mexico Chiles are the only chile to use here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoyoteChile

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I used Pueblo peppers instead of Anaheims. It turned out really spicy, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Very good soup! We used chicken instead of pork and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LetyPat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midway City, California, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
You could get away with using only 1lb of the chilies - I didn't care for this dish very much, my honey liked it but he too thought there were too many chilies even for something called green chile stew... I thought it was bland - go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States