Roasted Green Chile Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Followed recipe except for beef stock versus veggie stock. Used 36 Oz of frozen hatch chiles, a mixture of hot and mild. Best bet is to test heat level of chiles before adding to stew. I've tried a lot of recipes for this stew but this is by far the best to date. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am a New Mexican and this is my FAVORTIE, green chili stew recipe. I cheat and use frozen Burno green chilis that are preroasted. I also add a can of green chili enchilada sauce for a touch of more flavor. Yummy, yummy! I serve with fry bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great as is. I did not have quite enough chilies. Roasted them anyway and followed recipe. Delish. Barb in Oregon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This in homemade whole wheat flour tortillas and cheese, fried on the stove w/butter makes the best quesadillas ever Ate it 4 days in a row and still not tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DANEDREAMER
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I used two (2) lbs of pork tenderloin chops, cubed, two (2) 32 oz jars of home canned tomatoes with juice, two one (1) lb bags of roasted (Medium and Hot) Hatch chiles, regular Oregano, NO salt, three (3) medium potatoes, no Serranos. Smells delicious. Someone needs to make me some homemade, with LARD, tortillas just like my Grandma made. I can't wait. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Excellent stew! Just like I've had in Santa Fe. I omitted the serranos to keep it on the mild side for everyone's taste. I used fresh roasted chiles so the flavor was not compromised. The chilies make the stew!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I had Anaheim peppers and cubed pork for stew that I was looking to use and found this recipe. It turned out excellent! I know I can always find a recipe on allrecipes my go to website! I did have a few changes. First, I had a busy day ahead, and I knew the pork would not be as tender as I'd like it in 2 hrs. I decided to use a slow cooker, I browned the pork with spices, onion and garlic, put in slow cooker with water on high for 6 hrs. I didn't intend to be away that long, so add more than the required liquid or cook on low, because I had to add more water when I got back. I boiled the potatoes before adding to slow cooker along with chilies and tomatoes and let it cook the last 2 hrs until the tomatoes softened up. I also put 1T cornstarch paste to thicken it a bit. the meat was so tender and the favors were amazing. I have saved this recipe! Thanks! One more thing, I did not add Serrano chilies, but I may add chipotle in adobo next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Make as written with minimal preference changes. I used chicken instead of pork. Used 4 cups chicken broth, 1 1/2 lbs roasted Hatch Green Chile and instead of roma tomatos (which I didn't have) I used one 15oz can of petite diced tomatoes WITH juice. PERFECT! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I found this while looking for a chili recipe for my hot "Sandia" New Mexico chile peppers. Even though this is for a stew, I swapped the potatoes for beans. I also swapped the pork for grass fed ground beef as I don't like having to cube meat. Since my New Mexico peppers are hot, I used a little less the 1 1/2 pounds instead of the 2. If you have milder New Mexico peppers or Anaheim peppers, the 2 pounds would probably be good. This recipe was the basis for the best chili I have had in a long time! If you don't want to roast peppers, you can order them pre-roasted online. Just Google "hatch new mexico chile peppers".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States